Well, Whining Won't Fix Anything. in Always Recovering, Never Recovered.

  • Feb. 17, 2015, 1:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I do not make a good Rapunzel. For a start, my hair falls out at a faintly alarming rate when I drag a brush through it, so a goddamn lard-arse prince climbing up it would leave me looking like a post-meltdown Britney before I could say “take the fucking stairs instead, you oaf”. Also, I’m not big on sitting on my ass in ivory towers, waiting for a chisel-chinned Mr Charming to come save me.

Slightly incongruous as it is, given my ever-unsuccessful attempts to fix myself, I don’t like to hang around hoping that a problem will just undo itself. If something should work, and doesn’t, I will batter myself against it like a fat-bummed bluebottle on a windowpane until I can make it work. And if you discount my divorce-worthy relationships with food/myself/living, I have a pretty good success rate. Because I’m a stubborn little fuck.

So last night, while I was living the dream (or at least paying the mortgage) chucking cheapo groceries at shelves, I was thinking about what I wrote the other day. Yes, it absolutely breaks my stupid little heart that I am such a waste of what I could have been… but almost everything I mourned in that little requiem to the dreamer I was, is something I could still do.

So I will.

Because I like a challenge, and I hate losing, and fuck me I am seriously going to need some powerful distraction over the coming weeks if I can stick with this whole getting-therapy-not-thinking-about-killing-myself-eating-something-other-than-apples-and-cornflakes thing, because my body is going to change and I am going to HATE it.

So I’m going to do all the things I was boo-hooing about not doing.

1) Call the friends I danced in sticky-floored dive clubs with. Wear stompy boots and lots of bracelets; go haunt the badly-lit basements we Friday-nighted in at eighteen. Oliterate eardrums with obligatory playlist of punk/rock/metal etc; obliterate mental function with warm, watery vodka mixers. While there… be incredibly nice to these lovely, lovely people, who are somehow still in my life despite my propensity to roll in and out of theirs at will, dependent on my current mental state. Get drunk and declare undying friend-love for all of them. Headbang/mosh/pogo the night away. Mission accomplished.

2) Walk. Pick a day with clear winter-blue sky, take lots of music, drink the scenery, breathe crisp cold air. Do NOT be massive douche and work out afterwards how many calories it burned.

3) Re-read Krupskaya’s memoirs. Or Service’s biography of Lenin. Or both. Enjoy sensation of brain not turning to queasy pulp the way it does when reading terribly-written chick lit.

4) Record and watch entirety of Cheltenham Festival. Cry a little bit at equine beauty and bravery in action. Pretend crying did not occur, as is rather naff. (Note to self: there is literally NO THING quite as naff as saying naff. Do not be doing this in public.)

5) Draw something. Make it look vaguely like the thing it is intended to represent, if possible. If not, lie about what it was supposed to be. Cover every available surface in pencil shavings and paint. Have fun.

6) Go horseriding. Tear around a very small sandy arena on a shaggy pony, cutting all the corners and doing a rubbish job of sitting up STRAIGHT, leaning BACK and keeping heels DOWN. Feel breathless, battered, and hopefully happy. Thank shaggy disobedient pony for tolerating an absolute lack of talent on its back.

Maybe I’ll add to this later. Last time I (umm, I don’t really have a word for embarking-on-getting-better. Is this a gap in the English language or my vocabulary?) Okay, last time I decided to try eating-like-a-normal-person-ignoring-the-fatness-and-not-eating-the-contents-of-the-medicine-cabinet, I had a list of things I wanted, that I thought I could achieve if I stopped fucking myself up. It helped to have something to hold on to that might make the muffin top and thunder thighs almost worthwhile. And, I did achieve all of them. Because I’m a stubborn little fuck.

So, here goes nothing/something/everything. This entry feels strangely private, which I don’t really understand… possibly because it sounds like me talking? Definitely makes me want to crawl back beneath my nice fluffy blanket of metaphor, it’s safe under there.

In other news… literally shook so hard ALL THROUGH first-session-with-therapist that I could actually see his desk wobbling, and I wasn’t even touching it. Hope I can knock that off, it was quite massively embarrassing.


Park Row Fallout February 17, 2015

High Five on Stubbornness. Know that well :) Love your list!! Everything on it sounds awesome.

Waiting For Sunrise Park Row Fallout ⋅ February 18, 2015

Yup gotta love stubbornness.. it can be substituted for almost any other attribute, and frequently achieve the same results (although perhaps in a slower, grittier and less glamorous fashion!)

Thank you, and hopefully I will rediscover how easily pleased I am by small things as I do them; that will definitely make my world a better place! :)

Mr. Mofo February 17, 2015

This is wonderful!

Waiting For Sunrise Mr. Mofo ⋅ February 18, 2015

I hope it will be, in a lot of very small but powerful ways :)

invisible ink February 17, 2015

Great entry.... you are one hell of a person.... truly wish somewhere along the line I actually met you in real life.... you seem to be a gas...

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ February 18, 2015

Aww thank you, but you are much too kind... I promise you I really am all kinds of uncool! Pretty sure the pair of us would definitely rock that dimly-lit basement with the punk/rock/metal music though! :p

invisible ink Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ February 18, 2015

Yes we would...

Athena February 18, 2015

it does sound like you talking -- AND I LOVE IT.

Waiting For Sunrise Athena ⋅ February 18, 2015

Thank you! :0)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.