Almost done with 21 in Diary

  • Feb. 3, 2015, 9:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello. I’m back, again. I may have said this before, but I plan to write here much more regularly than I have been, lately. My habit has always been to write here after every writing session where I work on my novel, and this time is no exception. I look at these types of entries as cool-off sessions, like you might do after vigorous exercise, on a treadmill or whatever, where you slow the pace down considerably and coast to a stop rather than just ending abruptly, your heart thumpety thumping like crazy.

Today is the first day in a long time that I’ve done any writing other than an occasional diary entry. When I woke up this morning, I decided I would call off my shift at work. I needed a day to take the time to figure out what I want to do with my life aside from the obligatory work at the call center. Since I’ve been working there, I’ve done little more than sit at my computer, play video games, and drink during my off hours. In essence, I’ve been wasting my time.

I’m glad to have a job, and I won’t throw it away just because I don’t like it. I’ll show up tomorrow, and the next day, and the day after that. But I needed a little break. My calling off today won’t get me fired, even if it gets me a warning. I’ll take that warning and just keep going. On the weekends, from now on, I am going to start looking for other jobs. I’m not happy at my job. Fine. I’ll find a better one. It can be done. If I could find this job, I know I can find another. And I won’t quit until I have another job lined up. If there is any way I can put in two weeks notice, I plan to do that, too. Still, I need to think of an excuse for why I didn’t show up today, when I get there tomorrow. I was sick? My stomach was bothering me this morning. So, technically not a lie. That excuse feels a little weak to me, though. Oh well, I’ll think of something.

Anyway.... I did a lot of rereading throughout my writing session, both to see if the novel was worth finishing and to refamiliarize myself with the story and the characters, the plot, and whatnot. I like it. I think it’s good. I can read it and enjoy it with only the occasional cringe. It took hours to get back into the groove enough to write, and I only got 3/4ths of a page done, but I made progress.

Carmen, who is dead, is just about to be made into a vampire. She’s laying on a bed. Daphne is sitting beside her. Aija is getting ready to do the ritual, whatever that might entail. And Chet, who is also dead but who has been zombified by Aija, is standing guard outside the room, although he has just fallen asleep. This often happens to him.

Next time I write, I will work on finishing the scene that has been occurring in Chet’s dreams, which may or may not be in an alternate universe. After that, I’ll continue the scene with the whole Carmen becoming a vampire thing. Once I finish that, chapter 21 will be done. The chapter is already more than 3500 words long, so I’m thinking it may be the longest chapter so far. We’ll see.

Like I said, I wrote less than a page. But still, it feels good to have jumped back into that project again. I’ll have to make myself either get up early, or if I can’t do that, write when I get back from work. Morning writing is always ideal, but sometimes it isn’t realistic.

That’s about all I’ve got to say, I think. I feel a little drained, so I think I’ll play some FFXIII for the PC for awhile. Something like that. Anyway, take care, everyone.


WildflowerHeart February 05, 2015

Progress is progress!!

Carmen the Vampire WildflowerHeart ⋅ February 06, 2015

:) Yep. It's always a good thing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.