Head Games in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Feb. 3, 2015, 10:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know I haven’t written in quite a long while but there’s a very specific reason that I haven’t written: I’m trying to keep my mind healthy.

The truth is I’ve been taking this last opportunity in school to tackle some really heavy mental health issues I’ve been having for many years. The issue themselves are pretty wide-ranging although they all have to do with my insecurities when it comes to masculine culture. These aren’t necessarily things that I should be dwelling on constantly, and I find that when I write, I tend to view everything the prism of “how will I phrase this when I write.”

I need to allow my mind to rest and I need to make sure that I’m not emotionally contaminating certain issues whenever I’m confronted with stressful situations. Over-thinking is an habitual occurrence of mine, and I definitely need to keep myself feeling more coherent.

I’m not going to stop writing for forever. Think of this as a sabbatical. It’s just a chance for me to take care of a few things before I come back, hopefully, more secure and ready to tackle other issues.


KissOfLife! February 05, 2015

I was thinking recently I hadn't seen an entry from you in a while.
Yeah, we can't write all the time.

Fawkes Gal February 06, 2015

Good luck figuring things out. hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.