Living in circles in Diary

  • Jan. 19, 2015, 4:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s almost 3 a.m.... I need to go to bed soon, but I don’t really want to sleep. I’m just not in the mood. While I was browsing the “Origin” store, I thought I’d try to find a cheap game. Nothing particularly interesting struck me, although I did download a 21 year-old game, Sim City 2000, as it was free. Then I decided to look for an RPG. Dragon Quest yielded no results. Same with Final Fantasy. So I gave up on Origin and tried Steam. I ended up buying Final Fantasy XIII, which is a beautiful game visually, musically, and in story. It’ll take ages to download, so I’m afraid I won’t get to play it until after work tonight, unless I wake up early enough in the morning.

That game reminds me of my last time in Alaska. My experience living there that summer was bittersweet, at best. I thought I was being generous by putting my TV in the living room so everyone could use it, but in hindsight I think that was a mistake. My roommates watched it all the time, to be sure, but that meant I rarely had the chance to use my PS3. And when I did, I felt pressure to make it quick. Needless to say, I didn’t have many lengthy playing sessions. They were all obsessed with the show, 1000 Ways To Die. I hate that show. Death is not a subject I enjoy dwelling on, even in an exaggerated, television format. Despite it all, I was able to find times when I could sit down and really enjoy the experience of FFXIII. Times when everyone else was working but me. Those were some of the few good times that summer.

The Count of Tuscany was another bright spot for me. It’s a song by a progressive rock band, Dream Theater. Probably no one reading this would even like the song. But I loved it, especially during that summer. 11:00 and on is great. :)

Alaska will always have a special place in my heart. Whenever I talk about it or think about it, I miss it. I can still see the green, tree covered mountains, the wide rivers and the endless plains, when I close my eyes. Someday, I’ll live there again. And when I do, I plan to stay.

This entry is pointless, but that’s okay. It is what it is. Just like everything. But I thought I’d check in…try not to be a stranger.


Johnny Carcinogen January 19, 2015

Wasn't a fan of FFXIII, personally, but then again I haven't enjoyed a JRPG since around 2001.

Carmen the Vampire Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ January 20, 2015

I hear ya. It's a pretty polarizing game, FFXIII. Either you love it or you hate it. The older JRPG's are awesome. I still play them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.