Geographic Cure in Random Feelings

  • Nov. 6, 2013, 9:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

"It's a wholly illogical but nonetheless powerful belief that things will change for the better in a new place; that the urge to self-destruct will magically disappear." ~ Stephen King, Wolves of the Calla

I have been a victim of this belief at least twice in my life, am currently suffering under it even though I'm fully aware, and was aware at the time the choice was made, that moving here was the wrong thing to do. We try so hard to convince ourselves using whatever means possible that we're doing a good thing, a smart thing, the right thing, that if we don't do it, we'll regret it for the rest of our lives. Now the only thing I regret is that I allowed myself to be convinced, both by myself and others, of all that feel-good bullshit we tell ourselves when we do something we know to be wrong, even if we only know it to be wrong in the darkest, deepest pit of our hearts.

I want to go home.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.