There Goes My Baby by Trisha Yearwood in The Song Remembers When

  • Nov. 24, 2014, 8:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been singing for twenty-one years now, and I can honestly say that I’m proud of the breadth and depth my voice has acquired over those years. My voice has been molded and sculpted through the years. My voice now has a wider range than it has ever had at any other point in my life, I’ve become more adept at using my instrument, and I know its elasticity.

As I journey beyond the 20 year mark, I’m still looking to push my voice to the extremes it will go. Now I love singing songs that exhaust me completely when I’m through with them. I’ve sung every Stevie Nicks and Elton John song you can think of and now I like something that almost a vocal and emotional obstacle course. It doesn’t mean that it has to be high or loud, it just needs to tax me. These exercises range from “Dirty Diana” by Michael Jackson to “Where Would You Be” by Martina McBride, “Private Dancer” by Tina Turner or “Found Out About You” by Gin Blossoms. I’m also a very patient pupil when it comes to my voice. For example, I practiced Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’” for 8 years before I actually sang it in public.

One thing I’m doing is going back to my roots to sing songs that, once upon a time, seemed impossible for me to sing in a million years. One of those artists whose songs continually climbed beyond my range was Trisha Yearwood. I have a very fond place in my heart for her music, obviously since I named this book collecting my favorite songs after one of her songs and albums.

This was the last song I really heard of hers before I descended completely into my teenage Hell, fueled by Smashing Pumpkins records and bad relationships. Now this song has a real poignancy, especially to that time in my life, and this song drains me on every level.

Here is something for you all....


KissOfLife! November 26, 2014

Ahh I love her. I was absolutely hooked on her the minute I heard "She's In Love With The Boy" on the country music channel my parents had on cable. Then "How Do I Live" went to number 1 on the main charts here, but that's all the success she's had here. I do remember this track though and love it too. Then I heard she married Garth and didn't hear from her until a month or two back when she released the duet with Kelly Clarkson.

~Octopussy~ KissOfLife! ⋅ November 26, 2014

I always preferred LeAnn Rimes' version of How Do I Live.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ November 27, 2014

I liked both too, but have to say I preferred Trisha's. I remember both versions were in the ARIA charts but LeAnn's wasn't as high, so I probably heard Trisha's more at the time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.