Patience in Age 36

  • April 25, 2024, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Being married is, when you’re with a person that does not beat you, abuse you, etc, beautiful. I love being married. I love my life. Its not perfect by any means. And he annoys me to hell and back. But he also balances me and does more good than anything. But when the balance is disrupted because you’re partner is going through something, its hard. You need to be the one to give your partner understanding, empathy, support, and most of all patience.

You need to be patient with what they are going through and accept that you cannot remedy all situations. There are many things that your spouse will have to shoulder themselves, and all you can do is be there with a smile and a pat on the back when they need it. Because they will. However, you will get tired of smiling. You will get tired of having to pat their back. Because a thought will sneak in: At what point do I stop patting you on the back and tell you to man up?

Yes, being supportive is important. Being the one thing in their life that is not giving them stress is wonderful and needed. At some point though, they need a reality check. When do you do that? I love my husband. He’s a great man, and he’s going through a major life shift, but I gotta tell you I kinda want to shake him out of it. The funk that he’s in is blurring into every part of his life and he’s taking his anger, moods, out on every one and everything the can.

How long do I put up with that?

I’m only human. I can do only so much. I get tired too. And its even harder when I’m the one that needs a refuel on morale so I can keep giving it to you, the spouse who needs it. These are the things that make marriage hard. That make you want to give up after awhile because of the struggle. I get why people want to walk away. Who wants to put up with it? I do. Because I love him. Because I won’t give up. Because I need to be strong for him and for me. For our marriage that is worth the fight. That is worth seeing this rough patch through to get the beautiful moments we have yet to live.

Grief isn’t always suffering from death of a loved one, it can also be what you suffer from seeing your loved one suffer as well.

“What is grief, if not love persevering?”- Vision, from Wanda Vision


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.