april 20 in idea barrages

  • April 19, 2024, 7:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. “Maybe we can lose these guys tailing us at the airport, there’s so much security there, they can’t make a scene without getting arrested.” “That’s brilliant! We’ll hide in plane sight!”

  2. Remember, before that one terrible thing happened to them, they probably weren’t all that crazy. They might annoy you or just make you sad but if you could reach back before life’s sea washed them to rocky shores, they were probably interesting to know.

  3. D&D but the dungeon is also the shop and they’re both the horrors of Wal-Mart.

  4. Why say you’re “re-reading The Poetic Edda” when you can say you’re “working out on your Nordic tracts”?

  5. There is no game in the world that I continue to be terrible at more while still enjoying it despite the losses than “Slay The Spire”. I never seem to improve, I usually lose & my few wins are always by random chance but I just keep doing it. It’s like my love live in that sense.

  6. The D&D party my character is in, they are so utterly cornered and screwed, I’m in the week in between, writing every dumb long-shot plan to survive I can think of onto a clipboard, to rattle off Tuesday when our next session opens. I have… two so far.

  7. Stupidity is just bravery that happened to be ineffective. And vice versa. You gotta be dumb to try the hail-mary swing and you gotta be smart to make use of that kind of success. It’s a minnow-trap nearly all of us swim into and never escape again.

  8. The idea of getting out of a rut in one fell swoop is an imaginary thing to set yourself up to fail so you don’t try at all. An anxiety response that on the surface is self-defensive but has gone metastatic, protecting you so much you can never improve at all. One step at a time.


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.