"How are you?" is an invasive question. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • April 14, 2024, 2:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How are you? What is your current emotional status? How is your body feeling? How is your family feeling? Are your cats okay? Is your relationship healthy? How are your kids? What is your current financial status? Is this where you want to be in life? Do you feel satisfied with how you’ve lived your life so far? Do you want to be standing in this precise spot in this precise moment?

I like the scripted response of, “I am operating within established parameters.” While definitely ostentatious, it has the same meaning as

“I am fine.”

And you know you have said that plenty of times as a reflexive response.

But sometimes.

Rare times.

I’ll be in a good mood and actually give an honest response. The reaction is usually never different than if I had said “I’m fine.”

Hiding in plain sight can include when I am, actually, doing fine.

You may be damned if you do and damned if you don’t. But also. It’s kind of releasing to remember nobody really cares what’s going on with you. Nobody cares why you’re in a good mood, so roll with it. : )


Sleepy-Eyed John April 14, 2024

Why are you in a good mood?

anguissette April 14, 2024

A lot of the times I'll answer that question with "...well, I'm here!" lol. Can't bring myself to lie and say I'm fine, but like, I'm fine enough to keep going through the motions and doing the things I need to.

AnOrangeZebra April 14, 2024

<3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.