Garden boxes, cherry blossoms and plants in Bittersweet

  • April 13, 2024, 11:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When we got up, I wanted to go to the park in town. They have apple blossom and cherry blossom trees in bloom right now. It was 70 when we got there and I wore a sundress and sweater. It was 80 when we left. I took a bunch of macro photos of the blossoms, Tried to get the honeybee friends. T took some photos of me too. It was a lot of fun walking around one of the two city parks :) Then we hit up costco for our weekly shopping. Then walmart. I needed razors ( sundresses dont look good all hairy to me) and plant starts for the garden as well as some seeds.
We got 2 8 ft by 4 ft metal boxes. T got one put together yesterday. Today while he built the second, Co and L and I filled the first. At first we were shoveling into the wheelbarrow then shoveling out. Finally I said why not take a short end off and dump it? Uh brilliant. We did that and after we filled and got the short end back on, It only needed ONE wheelbarrow full to top it off. The second is ready to fill but it was about 85 so we came inside.

I put my new veggie babies in a herb box outside for now and we filled two tubs with soil for the potatoes.
I watered my houseplants and checked on my rooting babies. So many babies!! My pink princess philodendron looks SO sad but I unpotted it, and its roots look great. So hopefully it bounced back. My white princess philo looks great and opened a new leaf. My verigated monstara is going to loose one leaf but the other is good. Not bad. My HUGE monstara opened up TWO more leaves this week. Someone told me they do 3-4 a year haha. Ive had her a month and shes gotten 4. Shes also getting REALLY big really fast. About 3 ft high now and her biggest leaf is ohhhh 18 inches.
I got my Monstara albo nodes. Its a regular monstara but white and green. So I got them in Leca and water to root. I checked my seed starts and my turnips are starting to come up!

I got garden seeds and started pumpkin, zuke and bok choy. Im going to wait the seeds for peas, carrots, radish and the rest of the turnips for about a month. Risk of freeze and all. I WANT to get going, I KNOW its better to wait. I dont think root veg like carrots and radish transplant well. The only reason i have the turnips going is they are in plugs ( you move the soil) Carrots died when I tried. So im waiting....
I also have garlic, onions and a few other plants waiting on the garden!

I took about 3/4 of my plants to work so my house now looks a bit nekid. Its ok. The birbie friendly plants will grow and it will be ok. My philos may need to go and I just got 2 new plant babies ( REAL BABEIS ) at work yesterday. We had a garden workshop for kids and I took some of the starts home. They are teeny ( 1 inch pots) and im not sure entirely if they are toxic or not… Maybe.

I told L if we find any rhubarb babies. Ill get some. They miss rhubarb pies so much! Maybe my new garden box can have some. In one corner. That shit takes over haha. Maybe someone in Ak will have some they can send me… red and white please!! :D

In any event. This is the first year ive been feeling more like. We have something normalish I guess. More homey. More house plants, more garden stuff. More us… Progress!


Jinn April 14, 2024

It will be nice to garden again but the weather is still too iffy here . I did buy a box of eight day lily roots today . :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ April 15, 2024

Its too soon. I should wait a month... Grrr

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.