Friday 4.5.24 in Whatever Will Be Will Be

  • April 5, 2024, 9:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hermia texted me this morning. She is incredibly sick and is going to get tested for Strep Throat. I think it is a good idea and will be doing the same. The throat pain really is the most aggravating part of whatever this illness is. Because swallowing hurts (a lot) and that’s kind of an important part of the day when you really sit and think about it.
And honestly- as shitty as it could be- I do rather hope it is strep. Because strep is something you need antibiotics for which means it is something that can be fought with more than just “rest.” And ultimately, that would make a lot of things make sense. If the “rest” I got last week wasn’t enough… though… one of the judges had a suggestion from their own experience with the pool of people I deal with. As we are dealing with literally hundreds of people a week in close proximity. Recently, the judge had influenza (but was still coming to work unmasked) and as soon as the influenza cleared up; they got hit with something else. The judge specifically said that they would lay good odds that last week I had the flu and this week might be strep. But… you know the sore throat is bad when I don’t even eat the free breakfast we get on Fridays. I like the free breakfast we get on Fridays!

Hermia texted me. She’s positive for Strep. Now I get to try to track down a Walk In to see if I get the same diagnosis. I have a feeling I will.


hippiechica15 April 05, 2024

Strep is no fun. Hope both of you recover fast and get some rest.

Amaryllis April 05, 2024

Strep throat is some of the worst pain I've had in my life. I think I would take a hysterectomy again over having strep throat again. I could barely breathe or drink. Eating was just out of the question. Hope you feel better soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.