April 3 - Agility in These Foolish Things

  • April 3, 2024, 5:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The days seem to fly by lately.

Today’s read was about agility. You know how the older you get the less flexible you are? Unless you practice stretching both mentally and physically, you become stiff and set in your ways.

I’m trying hard to remain flexible. Agile. Okay with change. But man, is it sometimes hard and painful.

In the literal sense, I’m on Day 38 of my second go with 75 Hard (started on Jan 1, failed, then started again on Feb 26). Every morning I do my workout and have a good stretch afterward. At the beginning of the year, I couldn’t even sit cross-legged or get up from the floor without a piece of furniture for support.

There was a blurb in the book that I’m reading about a study done in older people. The findings were that once you can’t get yourself up off the floor your life expectancy is less than five years!

I’m getting stronger and more flexible every day, but being on a program for 75+ days and then stopping is simply not an option for me. I’ve set goals in the past and once I reached them, I stopped “doing the work” because I met my goal. I’ve hit a lot of mini-goals already in this program, but the idea is to keep upping the bar and keep going and improving.

Someone wrote a comment in a recent entry I wrote about the overuse of the word “journey” …and even though it might be overused, it’s a great descriptor because there really is no end to this if I want to remain flexible/agile.

There are so many things to see and accomplish on this trip!

And yes, the chapter I read was more about remaining open to change with things from a business perspective, but I’m reading this as an all-encompassing lesson. Plus, I’m sooooo burnt out on thinking about work stuff right now. That’s always a thing and always something I have to remain flexible with since times are so different now post-pandemic.

But I’m feeling the itch to get back out there and date some more and I need to be a lot more agile with that too. Dating’s changed so much over the years and so have the characters. I have to get myself into a mental place where I’m not so annoyed with the whole thing.

Here’s something funny: I’m one pound away from the weight that I’ve always felt was my optimal “dating weight”. I used to call it my Fully Fuckable weight, hahah! You know that feeling when you’re naked and you look in the mirror and go, “Okay now! I don’t mind getting naked in front of someone new!”

That will be me very, very SOON!

But I gotta stick with the plan and keep upping my goals and striving for more and more agility and flexibility.

Time to work out and streeeeetchhhhhh.

Love you!
GS


Complicated Disaster April 03, 2024

Fully Fuckable! LOL! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 03, 2024

YES!

Athena April 03, 2024

In the movie “What Happens Later” (filmed in Bentonville during the pandemic), the Meg Ryan character runs into the David Duchovny character at the airport and asks him, “are you on a trip or are you on a journey?” I loved that question.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ April 03, 2024

MUST watch that movie!!

At Last April 03, 2024

I hear you on the flexibility for the body. Weekly yoga and mat Pilates have made such a difference for me. Started when we retired and it’s remarkable to realize the physical and mental changes after sitting at a desk for a zillion years.

Ginger Snap At Last ⋅ April 03, 2024

Love that you are working on flexibility with yoga and pilates! It's truly wild to see how much flexibility we can lose (physically and mentally) when we don't use those muscles!

Jinn April 04, 2024

I hope that is if you can’t get yourself off the floor while supporting yourself pushing up - or I am a dead woman walking. 🤦‍♀️
I have to push myself up and if anything is handy I hold onto something too. If not, I can still get off the floor but it hurts like a mother because of my spine. Getting down is almost as hard as getting up they both are actions I try to avoid if possible . Pets however require that you get down quite often whether you want to or not.

pandora April 05, 2024

I'm pretty bendy and stretchy and flexible and I know how important that is so I make sure to work on mobility and joint function often. I hope to keep it up as long as I can!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 05, 2024

Yes!! That's awesome!

I'm not naturally bendy. I am striving to get there (as much as I can!) and stay there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.