Report take two in Bittersweet

  • March 20, 2024, 8:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok Today was a doozy. If I thought last Thursday was bad.
having 20 cops, plus swat and bomb squad show up and cordon off our buildings with ambulances right behind is another level.

Soooo lets back it up.
At noon we had our company baby shower!
At 12 30 the new gal called and said the school district is on the phone and need me NOW. I call.
They got another report that a student was going to come kill everyone in our facilities.
A few minutes later the police call me and talk to me about the threat.
I go back to the other building where our staff meeting is.
Ceo sees me walking up and I nod to the side. I tell her we got another threat. This time the name is extremely similar to a person we discharged into inpaitent last month. 6 weeks. In paitent is 6 weeks long. Name is just SLIGHTLY different but is a girl and the cops thought it was a male. I gave the info to the cops. Do you know your Hipaa protected information is free for all in the face of threats like this. Totally is.
Cops go to locate two kids with similar names to investigate. Or so they tell us.
I walk back to my office and muddle around stressed out. We decided to lock down our buildings again for safety. I locked them up and spoke with the people not in the staff meeting ( half our team goes on week, other half the next week, too many people for one meeting) so i sit down. Then at 2 when its over. I go back to clean up the baby shower and tell R and K what I learned after talking to the cops again.
We hear sirens. A LOT of sirens. Then one of our people comes RUNNING in freaking out. They blocked off the streets and wont let me in the building. They told me to go back. We take off. I dont even remember if we closed the door to the group room!
The cops, bomb squad and swat have blocked off the entire block surrounding our third location. Mind you its a block down the road so im calling the new girl and shes not picking up. Cue my emergency brain. Cops are there, shes not answering. OMG something is happening.
Cops wont let us there, they tell me there is a BOMB called in in our office. Im like can i get my people. Hes like yeah we need to evacuate everyone. I get ahold of H and tell her to knock on all the doors and get all therapists and clients out. Thankfully not many. They leave and we ask the cops. WHICH location. Why did you target the one on THAT street.
Cop goes wait what. We said we have 5 buildings. WHY THAT ONE! Did they say that one has a bomb? the fucking cops had NO idea we had 5 locations.
So then they expand their bomb perimeter and move the ambulances backwards and start going in all our buildings for a bomb sweep. WHICH by the way, mean they literally ask everyone they meet, is anything out of place or funny looking in the building. ARE YOU SHITTING ME? THATS It.
He tells us one minute we all need to clear for the day. Then 5 minutes later, no you are fine, after we send some people home. So pissed. So after the cops sweep all our locations and we confirm there is NO BOMB we try to figure out WHY that happened. Why are you traumatizing our people, Their CLIENTS, our NEIGHBORS! We work in a neighborhood. With HOUSES and small businesses and kiddy cornered to a high school! So turns out the cops are like. Oh yeah you got the gun threat active shooter threat and then somehow WE got that as bomb and deployed the bomb team and swat.

OH MY FUCKING GOD!

You are telling me, YOU got it SO fucking wrong and scared our people so badly. We were standing in the streets like sitting ducks if someone did want a drive by. Which with 30 cops there, wasnt going to happen.
The amount of stress rolling off of me…
We kept the buildings in lock down mode and are allowing people to work telehealth.
At this point the cops think they are false reports AND we think it may be a client ( teenager) who dosent want to come to therapy and so is calling in threats hoping we close down. Which we dont do, We move to telehealth IF the clinician wants.

R and I debriefed until 4 30, I get off at 4. She asked if I would like my own office. She said I could move into building two and be the building manager. Each building has a supervisor/head manager except building two. BUT I sit in a triangle with R/CEO and K/Clinical director. We operate as a team and SO often we are talking to one another. I love and hate the idea of my own space. as in I really DO want my own office. But also if I do, i wont be able to chat with my core team like that. I know with one of our therapists leaving to move to the BIG BIG city. Her office is opening. I suggested Z take it, its much bigger and next to the playroom and he works with kids. Then I can have that office. Its in my building and we would still be closer. I could have my own space so I dont have to hunt for an empty office to take private phone calls or zoom meetings. Im just SO used to working in tandem with R and K. That being elsewhere sucks. But also if I was in the building next door, its close. But I would end up walking back and forth a lot. N and I would be in the same building lol. I mean I spend up to 4 hours a day working with R or K or both.... At least 1 hour a day chatting about work shit.

So its IDK what to do.
T said take it, even in building two. I would really prefer boot Z to the bigger office in the other location and take his…

I would be lying to say that two threats plus all the cop activity hasnt made me so stressed out. We have already gotten half a dozen emails saying they are working from home the rest of the week. The gal we had the baby shower for messaged within minutes she wanted to be home. Poor things mama instincts are overwhelming as it is. The rest of us leave our kids at home. She has her baby at work… She has 6 weeks till her maternity leave. I get her wanting to work remote. Shes having a rough pregnancy as it is.

But hey, She liked the hats I knit her.. At least there is that! They were really cute.

Im getting a migraine. Im not surprised the stress is getting to me....

What a week to be wearing a cardiac monitor. Um why did your heartrate hit 160 on Wednesday…
Well doctor. How often do you get calls saying someone is coming to kill you at your office. Cuz I got twice in 6 days.
On the “positive” side. our Psychologist ( in his late 70s and trucking along) is a collage professor. Teaches ethics. He said they get 2-5 a WEEK at the collage and when its closer to finals or big test times. They get them multiple times a day. They shrug them off at the collage. That boggles my mind. We have also been told the big public mental health facility gets them multiple times a month and they don’t do ANYTHING. They don’t even have panic buttons that dispatch to police. Hell the farm store had that at the registers! But the big mental health facility doesn’t? WTF? We got our window breakers in. and im buying wasp spray for the receptionists. According to the guy we talked to who does trainings and safety briefings for this situation. Wasp spray is better then mace?

Its been hours. Im at home. Im in my jammies.
My heart rate is still over 100.
Im not chilling TF out .


Sleepy-Eyed John March 20, 2024

:(

Small Town Girl March 21, 2024

Omg!! They think this is all over not wanting to do group therapy?! DBT or what?! Just don't show up?! Just don't participate in session?! How did they suddenly find the name to the student through the anonymous report thinger? 😳

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ March 21, 2024

The safe to tell report left a name and its not a real name. It dosent log who made the report. The name left was just close enough to a ex client and another student to investigate them which nothing came of it.
We think they dont want individual therapy. If we knew WHO we could tell them that you cannot be forced to go. All you have to say is i dont want to go, and consent is withdrawn. Parents cannot make a child over 12 go to therapy. Thy have NO say in it at all. Its against the law in colorado.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ March 22, 2024

Maybe make a rule of telling kids that? Idk this is ridiculous. Also wow. They're giving kids way too much power at way too young of ages! That's too young to decide you don't want therapy. So many kids need it and will refuse it. Ugh.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ March 22, 2024

It goes both ways. a lot of time parents wont let their kids go to therapy who need it. So kids can say I want to go and parents cant tell them no.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ March 24, 2024

True. But WI has laws that make parenting impossible like that too and it's just ridiculous.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.