Where are the calves today? in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 14, 2024, 9:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We sold calves yesterday. It’s the biggest single payday at the farm. By far. It’s the payday for a year of work and the return on a lot of capital. And for some bizarre reason it pays well. Perhaps because of the work and capital involved.

It’s not a totally happy day though. Jim will never watch the cattle sold. He said for the first time- he doesn’t want them to see him there. They are where they’ve never been before. And then they see him. Wow. I never thought of that. I asked, do you really think they would pick you out of a crowd of people? He said sure they would.

I find that incredibly sad. Sure they would.

Then I thought of the idea of the farmer who went broke = there are so many ways for farmers to go broke - because he bought back his calves at the salebarn.


Just Annie March 14, 2024

I understand his reasoning. Farming is difficult work, but I don't think most people understand the heartache involved. Perhaps I don't, either, not being a farmer.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 14, 2024

I get it, if I had to raise a calf in order to eat steak, I doubt I would be a meat eater.

Wit' or witout March 14, 2024

So many heartbreaks just to live from day to day.

NorthernSeeker March 14, 2024

This is a very sad perspective. Wherever the calves go next I hope they have a lot of good meals in their future.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 14, 2024

They'll be well fed. It's always to the farmer's advantage to take good care of his animals.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 14, 2024 (edited March 14, 2024)

Edited

What's always the greatest tragedy and I haven't heard of this happening in a long long time is when a farmer lets his animals starve because he can't afford to feed them. It's always so awful because the amimals had a value and could have been sold, except after it's too late and the shame has got to be so bad.
I guess we should be vegetarians. Except except except then the animals would have no lives at all.
It's also a crime and the farmer can be fined and also sent to prison.
Do you get I mean?

We will be having new calves soon and they are always so lovely - their relationships with their mothers are so wonderful and fraught. Just like out own with our children.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ March 14, 2024

Is the SPCA active in the US? In Canada charges can be brought against the owners of animals for starvation and other types of neglect (such as not having sheep sheered in the heat of the summer).

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 14, 2024

Yes. we have the same laws, I think. As I said it happens from time to time and the people are charged and fined or imprisoned.
To be honest we have Humane Societies locally but I've never heard of SPCA locally, but I know the sheriff would be involved if there were complaints.
A friend of mine who was not a farmer asked me once about when to complain when she saw a cow that she thought was too thin. I really don't know if she did or not.

Lady of the Bann March 14, 2024

We used to live next door to a farm and the cows used to make so much noise when their calves were taken.

Purple Dawn March 14, 2024

My brother doesn't go either, I watch the auction online and send him the results. Tough cowhands aren't they? 😀

Beret March 15, 2024

You say "I guess we should be vegetarians. Except except except then the animals would have no lives at all."

If calves are not produced is that such a bad thing? For meat purposes. There will always be cattle maybe just not as much if more people didn't eat meat.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ March 16, 2024

I guess you're right. My argument has flaws.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ March 16, 2024

Jim says this might be the last year.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.