Beauty Is Truth in anticlimatic

  • March 10, 2024, 8:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My girlfriend has been playing this game lately called “Lord Of The Rings Or” in which I have to chose between Lord Of The Rings, by JRR Tolkien and other things. She finally got me with “showering,” after going through all of my other favorite books, movies, and foods. I could take one for the team on those, but I have to draw the line at bathing.

Now, I’m not a pedantic kind of nerd. I don’t care for rote memorization of details. But if I think about the themes and resolutions of the Lord Of The Rings for too long, my eyes get misty. It is western values set to legend. It is both what to hope for, and why to hope in the first place.

It’s the beauty that makes me cry. Beauty being relative, the state of the world in which it exists affects it. The days get darker and the few bits of truth we can yet kindle get sharper in its growing shadow. Like bright daggers straight to the soul of the species.


Sleepy-Eyed John March 10, 2024

You're really a beautiful writer. But yes shower.

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ March 11, 2024

Thanks brother. I love my showers!

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ March 11, 2024

So does everyone else. :p

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ March 13, 2024

LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.