Poor L bear in Bittersweet

  • March 2, 2024, 12:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ive been worried about L. Hes 12 now and has been gaining weight steadily since 2020. He was 10 lbs when he was born but he was skinny. Then when covid hit, he fell and broke his arm and because he was 9ish, because of where the break was. They told him he couldent ride a bike, or trampoline, or swim or anything and he started gaining weight. Hes been gaining weight steadily since them as his activity level has dropped. Its such a painful combo. He dosent have energy, his feet hurt, his leg hurts. And his feet DO hurt, they have the same malformation that I have in my feet. The bones should extend in a smooth line from the upper foot/ankle in a gentle line all the way to the toe. Instead both of our feet the line goes down, and then flatten out in angles rather then a slope. So it causes pain when walking. But then he gained weight and the foot hurts as he is active.
So its all this stupid combination of things.
And it amounts to my 12 year old being 5 ft 6 and 217 lbs. Hes chunky. He wears mens larges. Hes built like his dad. He is not slim basketball player like my other four. He is built like a linebacker.

So now we are looking into diet programs for kids that will help him loose some weight hopefully ove the summer. But we have to do it SO carefully because of eating disorders. Of course the doctors suggestions of dont eat fast food. Tony said what, The once every 2-3 MONTHS that we get fast food. Have you looked at the COST of eating fast food for 7 people, 4 teenagers? Are you kidding.
We dont eat much processed food, But I do bake.

For lunch he had 4 oz salmon and 2 small bananas.
But then he will find snakcs and eat them too! So thats our problem and we will work on that. I was just really frustrated with the doctor, Just eat less fast food. We dont really eat it. I can monitor his sugar intake and food at home but im not in control at school either. Im going to TRY. HOPEFULLY we can make some healthy progress for him. IDK.
It worries me because we also have EDS and if he has EDS internally then that can be causing issues. They didnt do blood work so no telling if his thyroid is messed up. OR his sugars. He was fine 2 years ago, But that was years ago…

Sigh. Stresses me out.


Jinn March 02, 2024

He eats snakes ? Oh, you mean snacks ! Whew ! I was thinking ; wow, that poor kid must be hungry , 😂
My youngest son was chunky all through junior high and then when puberty hit ; that changed. Now at 30 he is getting chunky again and hates it . More exercise , less food and eat healthy is what I tell him. It’s not easy for everyone to be thin.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ March 02, 2024

hahah yeah, Typo.
I mean you can eat snake.
He got a walk in today. Its a start.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ March 02, 2024

:-)

WildflowerHeart March 02, 2024

Maybe if he changes what he is snacking on that would help? I'm in a wheelchair so it's extremely hard for me to be active and very easy to put on weight. Plus I imagine with EDS a lot of rougher physical activity could cause a lot of injuries, is his vascular EDS?

ChainedChrysalis WildflowerHeart ⋅ March 02, 2024

We dont know for sure. But its a concern. I have EDS, and my mother in law has vascular EDS. So its on both sides. All 5 of my kids have it to some degree.
We know he almost never feels full, so he will eat and eat and eat.

Im looking for more treats that are healthier. We keep a lot of fruit and veg in the house and occasionally get things like fruit snacks. In general we arent keeping much in the house that is "bad" types of foods.

WildflowerHeart ChainedChrysalis ⋅ March 02, 2024

I have a friend with vEDS, if you'd like I can ask her if she has any tips on ways for him to safely be more active, though with it on both sides, I'm sure you're well aware of things like that. I don't know if the not feeling full is part of the EDS, I know a little about it but it is limited. Or she may know of snacking things that are healthier she can recommend as her case is pretty bad so I don't know if that is an issue for her or not. Sorry if I am overstepping.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.