Ode to Nursing (healthcare) in Age 36

  • Feb. 24, 2024, 1:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just had my 14th anniversary with my license as an RN. I cannot begin to express how much I love this career. It has given me a purpose, my income to provide for my family and myself, and so many experiences that were humbling and encouraging. I think what prompted this writing, because let me clarify I am not burnt out or frustrated, is how badly it gets trashed. I think that its a mix of a few things. I was born in 1987 (do the math) so I see and hear a lot about the generation after me being a bit entitled and lazy, and the generation after them being more so.

I do believe that anything in life worth having and boasting about is derived from hard work. You can brag about being born with money, looks, or whatever else, but until you feel the pride of having done something yourself that you know you put your time, love, sweat, and effort into, the high from that is unlike anything else in life. That being said, nursing gives that high. Its the type of job where you don’t get thanks every day, but you are able to see your efforts and they good they do. That my friend is the ultimate high in life. Whether it be you saved a frustrated mom’s day by showing how to suction her baby and give Tylenol to literally pounding on a chest to save a life. Both of those situation reaps the same feeling if you have that outlook.

This job is one of giving. Much like working in the peace corps, doing mission work, or being a nun, there is a sense of sacrifice the job. You are giving you compassion, time, and efforts to hopefully help a fellow human being. The irony is that as a species we are hell bent on destroying ourselves. It seems to be, not just human nature, but nature in general. One must have the mental fortitude to know this and still do what needs to be done. I hope that those that come after me are shown that there are beautiful qualities in life that have nothing to do with what life gives them, but what they can provide for others.

Second, I hear that healthcare itself is a joke. That we are in cahoots with Big Pharma etc. Basically that we’re more interested in money than anything. Let me very clear, we at the nursing level have our hands tied with that. We live a world where money does make it go round. We can do nothing without it. If one knew what it takes to run a hospital, the manpower, the people dependent on the wages earned at the hospital is reason enough to bill you.

I have seen people not be cared for how they need to be because they are not covered by insurance. At the same time there are those that live off the system. We have patients that say “I can’t afford Tylenol” when they are well dressed and well fed. So clearly you can, you just choose not to. So they bitch and holler for the provider to prescribe them OTC meds so that the insurance can pay for it and not them. Meanwhile, they’ve let their 2-5 year old cook in a 104 fever because their cheap ass didn’t want to pay 10 bucks for it OTC. Yet you have gas in your car. You just came in with a drink from Starbucks. You really sold me on the fact that you don’t have money for the fever medicine for your child.

I could go into so much more, but mainly know that nurses and those in healthcare are not there to screw you over. For the majority, we’re really good people with good intention, we just have guidelines we have to follow, rules that must be obeyed. This world is not perfect. We lost that when man, not fell to temptation, but chose something other than paradise. (Yes, I am Christian.)

As a fellow human, please don’t become bitter and jaded by society. Mainly, the most important thing that nursing has taught me is that we always have a choice. They may not be great alternatives, but there is always a choice. And that choice will always show itself in your life, because we are and always will be, only human.

I love my job and those I care for. 14 great years with a profession that continues to amaze me. Nursing, I love you. Thank you for everything.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.