Hi there - in These titles mean nothing.

  • Feb. 14, 2024, 5:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Where have I been? What have I been doing?

Well I’ve been wallowing in words. And pictures.
In some kind of order.

I finished James Frey’s book about Los Angeles, Bright Shiny Morning. I guess I told you about that. Anyway it made me want more. So… I tracked him down on you tube. Not that I remember a lot, (I stayed away from his Oprah confrontations), he said his next book was Katerina. I found it Sunday at Pearl Street Books. I just read the beginning. Just as good as BSM. Turns out he likes Henry Miller -The Tropic of Cancer. And Paris. Paris of course. You gotta like Paris. He includes a list of his favorite Paris places. It might be all made up. Like Million Little Pieces, it might be a little true and a little fiction. No one says anything is a memoir after the first time. Except Mary Karr who can write memoir after memoir. In her case she may have receipts.

Then after or in the middle of Frey, I dig up an old old friend by the name of Nabokov. I used to read him. Mainly what I read was Ada, a big fat novel about love and butterflies. I read it when it was new and when I was young. Nabokov is crystal and mountain streams with the Riviera on the side. Pearl Street Books had a big fat paperback of a book written by Brian Boyd called Vladimir Nabokov: The American Years, the man and his books.

So I told you - I’m wallowing.

Then there’s good old youtube in the middle of the night. Less intellectual perhaps. But seductive in a grosser way.

First I came across Dave Ramsey. Remembering his name is a triumph of my faded memory. I start by thinking of the neighbor who lives down the valley and used to have a barn the cousin of ours - whose name is DAVE!!. After I get the Dave I can remember the Ramsey. I’m so grateful. I thought I was going to have to get a tattoo, and you know how much I don’t want to get a tattoo. Dave Ramsey, if the name is familiar but you can’t remember what he does, is a money guru. I think I just watch him out of boredom. He’s ok. Not great. He advocates paying off debt. I’m not sure I got much else out of him. But I’m not through with him yet.

Nummber two on youtube is the Hoarder series. I knew of its existence but I never felt compelled to watch. I don’t think I will stick to them. They aren’t as long term an obsession as my Harry and Meghan, but they lead to questions. After I watched the first bunch I got to wondering if all the stuff that they haul our of those houses isn’t the exact same stuff just taken from one place to the next. I also wondered if there wasn’t good stuff thrown out with the bad? I wonder at the people who watch the Hoarder show. How hoarded up are they?
At first I just thought it was women of about my age, women who god forgive me reminded me of myself, who had houses filled with junk. But later I found there were men who were about my age and who also reminded me a bit of myself who had all that junk. Retired school teachers seem to have a lot of stuff. Of course I think the tv show puts some effort into choosing who they help. I think they stay away from poor people or those without resources.

Also on youtube I’ve discovered a library in Camden Maine which has a man who reads parts of books to us, a new one every Friday. His name is Joseph Cote - with an accent over the e. We have people with that name living around here - and it’s pronounced Co - ta. I think he says it different, perhaps more Frenchly. Also strangely, I have no trouble remembering his name. He also answers any notes I leave on his posts.

So …
So .....
So .......

It’s almost Valentine’s Day. So happy Valentine’s Day. The world is full of various kinds of love. We may as well share it all around.


Sleepy-Eyed John February 14, 2024

<3

I enjoyed this!

Jinn February 14, 2024

Happy Valentine’s Day ! How wonderful to be wallowing in books and words. It’s the best kind of wallow in my opinion.

A Pedestrian Wandering February 14, 2024

I have only ever seen a few episodes of Hoarders, but each time I feel better about my own stuff (which just seems like a lot but probably isn't).

Rivercity February 14, 2024

I love Ada. I read it first in 1977.

woman in the moon Rivercity ⋅ February 14, 2024

That's about when I read it too. I gotta find a copy and do it again.
I watched an interview with the Nman - I think it was this one.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8OwyqvSh2g
in which he says he likes to get fan letters from the wilds of the US- Kansas and Texas were examples - when he finds out people get what he is saying.
One of my great life regrets is not going to the trouble to write to the authors who I got.
I never know how or where to send the letters. To their publishers?

Rivercity woman in the moon ⋅ February 14, 2024

In about the same year, I sent a fan letter to Bruce Jay Friedman in care of his publisher, but he never answered. I think it's the only one I ever sent, but it's so easy now to follow writers on Twitter and give them little hearts. I will watch the interview with the Nman!

Just Annie February 14, 2024

So Happy Valentine's Day to you, too. Spread the love! (Or wallow in more words, that sounds like more fun.)

thesunnyabyss February 14, 2024

Happy Valentine's Day to you!

NorthernSeeker February 14, 2024

I enjoyed A Million Little Pieces and I'm glad to hear that Frey is writing again. Frey drew me in and I'll read him again. You are my friend and I'm glad you are still pursuing your interests.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 14, 2024

He has a real gift for ..... what is it? He draws you in and you can read and read. Both these books of his are great. Oprah is not a perfect person.
Jim bought a new as in different skid loader and I didn't know about it till I saw it driving around in the yard. I'm a little pissed. I guess he needed one but he insists he told me and don't think he did. God almighty. LIfe is so whatever it is. I'll leave this note public. If anyone stumbles across it ----- so what.

Sleepy-Eyed John woman in the moon ⋅ February 14, 2024

I've never read Frey

IpsoFacto February 14, 2024

I am definitely a semi minimalist. Hoarders scares the hell out of me.

woman in the moon IpsoFacto ⋅ February 14, 2024 (edited February 14, 2024)

Edited

I think the term is wrong. I think they're extremely bad housekeepers.

Beret February 14, 2024

There is all kinds of interesting worthwhile things on youtube. I went down a rabbit hole one time watching a British series on border control. Especially from Calais to England. And the stuff that goes on in immigration in Heathrow. Just the other day I saw an hour long thing about a bad snow storm in 1978. February 7, 1978. It was actual footage from a news station in Providence, RI. I95 was closed for days. It affected a wide swath of the east coast and I have no memory of it. Weird.

noko February 17, 2024

Carry on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.