5AM freewrite.//Part2 in Day By Day

  • Feb. 12, 2024, 4:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

strong textemphasized textHello everyone. I said I’d write, so, here I am. I don’t actually know where to start, so I’m just gonna babble until it starts to form some semblance of anything.

Can I ask a favor from you guys? Please tell me what you want to know about my life at this moment. It’s been so, so long. Let me know what you want to know. One person has already asked, and I will answer that probably in my next entry. Also, someone please let me know how to post pictures. I’ll start posting pics if I can figure out how to.

So, it’s 5AM, Monday morning. I have to be to work at 7. Which means I’ll be leaving the house at 6, so I can grab a bite to eat before I go in. I didn’t get groceries this weekend, so I’ll have to settle for some overpriced junk from a drive through on the way in.

I still work as a medical assistant. I think I was working at the med school when I last wrote? I was there for 7 whole years of my life. It was a good job with top tier benefits, but the manager was picking on me, so I had to leave.

I started working at an urgent care clinic in January of 2023. As a matter of fact, my start date was 1/3/23. My start date t the hospital, was 1/3/16. I was there for almost exactly 7 years to the day.

Anyway, the urgent care place was fun. I loved my coworkers. The patients were awesome. The location was perfect.

But then.

The plumbing overflowed. The company fixed it twice. Then, they had to overhaul the whole plumbing system. They made us work from home while they fixed it.

Soooo, time got away from me, I’ll try to come back this evening and finish this! Headed to work.

Love you all!


So, it’s Tuesday evening, and I’m gonna try to wrap this part of the story up. I have so much to say. So, so much.

So, when I left off, we were working from home. We didn’t know what the hell we were doing. We were largely just winging it.

One Thursday evening, my manager texted us that we wall had to be on a Zoom meeting on Friday morning at 9AM.

The only other time on any job that I had to be at the same place at the same time on such short notice as all my other coworkers, was when our boss died.

I logged onto the zoom at 9:01. My manager said my name, and started crying. All my other coworkers were already on. There was a stuffed shirt who began talking about how we weren’t doing great financially, so, they were pulling the plug. They gave us two weeks of work, to pack the clinic up and ship the supplies to another clinic. Then, we were out of a job. They gave us a small severance.

My Mom does the same work that I do, and she had heard some rumors that they needed a medical assistant at their job. I didn’t want to work at her office, because it’s an ob/gyn office. I don’t care for specialty offices where you only care for a small part of the patient, i much prefer Internal, Urgent, or Primary care.

She explained that they were bringing primary care to her ob/gyn office.
I applied. Waited. Interviewed. Waited.

And finally, got the job. I am very happy at my current job. Been here since July, and it is an amazing change of pace from my former job. I work with ONE provider.

It’s the best system ever. I know him like the back of my hand. When a patient tell me XYZ, I know my doctor is going to want me to do ABC.

And if I mess up? He doesn’t slap my hand. He says “Hey that great but in this case, can you do 123 instead of ABC? I say “Sure thing!” and get it done. No shaming. No arguing. No running to tell my manager that I didn’t read his mind and therefore caused a minor inconvenience and should be nailed to the cross for it.

In fact, he’s so independent that I have to remind him that HEY DUDE I WORK FOR YOU AND CAN DO THIS TASK WHILE YOU DO OTHER THINGS! For example, today, I assisted him in a procedure that caused the patient to bleed a little more than expected. He stitched her up, and said ‘okay I’ll talk to you after I clean up all this blood’. I said Doc, I’ve got the clean-up. He said ‘No, I made her bleed, I’ll clean it’. I said “No, I am your medical assistant, I’ve got this!” I have to fight this man to let me help him.

It’s a night-and-day difference. I am so very loved and respected at this job.

It’s 10:30 now, and I need to get some rest. I have something I want to do tomorrow morning before I go in. I’ll try to write more tomorrow. It’s therapeutic.**

And, I have so much to say.

Keep the questions rolling in, I’ll answer them all soon!


Last updated February 13, 2024


crystalrose February 12, 2024

Are you happy to go back in to work, now that they fixed everything?

toddslife February 12, 2024

do you have any tattoos

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.