Morning On The Job Site in anticlimatic

  • Jan. 26, 2024, 10:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Exquisite morning.

They’re all exquisite.

Evening is always the time when things unravel. I think the fact that I write mostly in the evenings is a sign that I may be trying to re-ravel with the utility, rather than just sleep which is what I should do.

This morning I slept in an extra hour because I’m my own boss and I felt like it. Took my time having coffee and chatted with my girlfriend, who was also up. After loitering around in matching black bath robes, I hopped in the shower, put on my work armor, stopped for another coffee and some snacks on the way, and drove way out in the middle of nowhere to Cross Village, on the lake.

The cabin I’ve been renovating out there has had nobody else working on it all week, and this morning completed a 5 day stretch of what I now realize is the primary lynch pin in whether or not I will be enjoying myself on the jobsite. Is it full of other annoying workers? No. Do I have the entire place to myself and quiet in which to think?

Absolutely yes. Paradise.

The smell of cut wood. The roar of the salamander heater. Just enough cell service to stream a little background classical while I tinker away. Just having the space and the time to make something at your own pace, and watch it take shape. This is the height of being a man, I think, and every day I am able to participate I actively employ gratitude- because I know there will come a time, not far off, when I will no longer have the privilege.


Last updated January 26, 2024


Sleepy-Eyed John January 26, 2024

<3

How did you meet your gf?

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 27, 2024

plenty of fish, dating website a long time ago. We dated for just a little bit, were friends for a long time after that, then dated again.

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ January 27, 2024

right. hmmmmmm

I get matches sometimes, but I'm useless with women. What do I need to do to succeed?

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 27, 2024

idk man, women are nuts. I've had luck with the most counter intuitive things. I'm always surprised at what works.

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ January 27, 2024

Give me examples of counter-intuitive things you've done that have worked. Also things you're surprised have worked. But I hear ya. :/

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 28, 2024

Probably depends on the girl. I've been out of the game for so long idk if I'm qualified to give advice. I think women like things they wish they didn't, so there's confusion. A lot of times when they tell you the things they hate, that's often what opens their legs. And they resent it. Which is why they say they hate it. But then of course it's not everyone that can participate in doing the things they hate/love and move UP in their esteem instead of rapidly into rejection. You do have to let yourself be known and sized up before they will even consider it. But don't think saying words is what communicates yourself to them. Most words should be redirected into expressing interest in THEM, they will judge you based on other things. Don't lose them by being boring (ie, not keeping the attention on them and talking about yourself).

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ January 28, 2024

Haha great advice! You're a genius sir!

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ January 28, 2024

What kinda things?

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 28, 2024

Half really shallow stuff like looks/size. If you're tall/attractive you have much less work to do. But if you're a skinny/fat gremlin like me, you can still get ahead. Some women will not compromise on looks, and that's ok. Plenty of fish as they say.

The other half (maybe it's less/more than half) can be moved by attention, wit, and charm. Attention is the big one and the easiest. INTJs are good at this, so you have advantage. Just have the social skills to know when prying is bold/attractive or invasive/creepy.

The normal/sane stuff you would expect women to be into- like stability, maturity, resources, kindness, integrity, etc (and they really are into it eventually), is only activated after breaking through the barrier of catching her interest.

1) Catch interest by being charming/interesting/dangerous-and-red-flag-presenting
2) Hold interest without overplaying/underplaying until they catch some feelings- and you're going to have to have sex with them and perform well at the end of this stage.
3) Hold feelings and let the relationship from naturally. Women take initiative here and will build it accordingly by pushing you into stage after stage (like moving in together, etc).

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ January 30, 2024

More than I know. Fair. Smart.

VioletJoker January 26, 2024

”This morning I slept in an extra hour because I’m my own boss and I felt like it.”

Hell yeah.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.