Let's pretend in These titles mean nothing.

  • Jan. 25, 2024, 5:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We meet on the sidewalk. It’s a warm day so we can stand and talk. We probably won’t have much to say. We greet each other. One of us remembers the other’s name. Probably you remember mine. I’m awful with names. It’s nothing new. I’ve always been that way.

One of us asks the other how we’ve been. Or one of us wonders whether to bring up the fact that the other has had a loss in life since we last talked - a spouse, a child, a job, a favorite piece of real estate.

We’d promise to see each other again. Stop by for coffee. Have a gossip. Have a heart to heart. I’ll bring freshly baked cookies. You’ll show me pictures from your last trip.

In the back of our minds, we are thinking who we’ll tell about this meeting. We’re thinking how it’s like that one Updike story when his wife meets his old red-haired all the way down lover.

We’re grateful we’re glad to see each other. Glad the world is treating us each as well as it is. We’re glad our coats still button, glad we remember where we parked our cars, glad life is as good as it is.

🥳

I never use the little smiley faces. Once in a while they show up when I hit the wrong key and I just dismiss them with a wave of my flicky little mind. But this time I gave you one. I think it might be a clown. I didn’t try to look for an appropriate one. Now I wish I knew how to get them back on purpose. I could copy the one I put there over again but that would defeat all our purposes.

Meanwhile -

It’e been ages since I wrote. I have a jillion things to say. Today is cloudy. I suppose the temperature is above freezing and the soft snow is evaporating into the air. I heard on the radio today that somewhere - maybe the whole earth- is dryer than it’s been in a lot of years - a thousand? Is that possible? I hope now. We have a bunch of generous snow. So that has water in it. The crops after what seemed like a dry summer were moderately good. It turned out to be a normal year.

One of the four kids who spent so much time at my house - one of the two that weren’t mine - died recently. His mother called and told me. Life has these things that shouldn’t happen. Another neighbor died = an old man who’d had a good life. Jim brought home his funeral card for me to staple into my 2024 notebook.

I wish I had some pictures to show you. I suppose I have more of the barn. The barn has to be one of the most uninteresting things on the internet and perhaps in real life. I think I took a picture of my new Martha Washington pig cookie jar. It should be in my camera but not in my computer. Maybe soon.

I’m spending time with Trump and Harry and Meghan. I wouldn’t call them good company, or even reliable entertainment, but they’re always here and they don’t ask much from me. Not that you guys ask much from me either. I’ll have to think about our relationships and what color hair we all have. I’ll have to think about our meetings on the sidewalk.

Bless you all.


A Pedestrian Wandering January 25, 2024

I wonder, in the course of a life, how ..many conversations like these we might have.

NorthernSeeker January 26, 2024

I have not run into anyone I know in Burnaby but Burnaby isn't exactly a tourist mecca. In Victoria I would occasionally run into people from up north. Other people's photos are interesting to me but you as the photographer shouldn't have to take photos of things that don't interest you

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 26, 2024

The problem with me and photos is a couple things I guess. Transferring the photos used to be automatic and sort of easy and rewarding. Now it takes work and I seem to have an allergy to work any more. I mean it was new and fun and exciting - the idea of putting an image of MINE on the internet - seeing it on my own computer screen and thinking of others seeing it too. Didn't we once decide photos were at their absolute BEST when seen on these lighted screens? I remember your collection of best photos on the screen saver of your computer in the lower level of your house in the north.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ February 05, 2024

I still have a collection of the best photos on my screen saver but it is a much bigger collection now. You are in some of those photos from the adventures we had together.

Jinn January 26, 2024

I wish we would meet on the street and chat. :-)

gattaca January 26, 2024

I would love to meet on a country road and chat, and though I have been reading your journal for years, I would not remember your name and I suspect you would not remember mine.
But I'm sure that will not keep us from having a nice chat on the side of the road!

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ January 26, 2024

Those are the best chats - with people we know but can't remember how or why.

Wit' or witout January 26, 2024

I always think that there is an emptiness at this time of the year where there is nothing interesting to talk about. We are just waiting for the earth to wake up again. Then every day will be exciting and we'll have so much more to say.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.