Oh-Hi-whodawutnow? in Bittersweet

  • Jan. 20, 2024, 9:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My kid has been on this Ohio sucks kick for a while. There is no rhyme or reason behind it. Just ohio sucks.
And so in my unhappiness. I start looking at houses to buy elsewhere. Its a thing. I get on zillow and plan shit out. Not that I do it. So randomly hes grumping about Ohio ( Seriously WTF) And I go to Ohio. And I went what the actual fuck!!
There is a damn near castle for sale, For pretty cheap!
Houses are insanely cheap. I mean I see that the job market is lower. But T’s job is remote anyway. We could literally survive on one income lmao Easily. Even with two car paments and debt. Its SO much cheaper then Alaska or Colorado. I found Lake Erie front Property for under 250K With a brand new, fully updated house on more then half an acre. WHAT THE HECK! My little ranch is over 300K and thats with the market bubble. NOTHING is that cheap in my town now.
The weather seems ideals. Averages in the low twenties in winter, averages 20 ish inches of snow. Highs in the 80s-90s in summer. Sure it gets storms and humidity. Lots of outdoor activities. I even found an insanely cool teeny town with lots of neat festivals right on the lake. Including pirate ships! Lots of civil war reenactment things.
Im so confused haha.
So now we told all the kids we are buying a castle in Ohio ( we are not, but I want to!) And moving. lol.
But for realzies. Unless we find a really bad reason not to we may just move there in a few years… Too bad not to the castle but still.
I joked that we could literally sell our ranch style house in Co and move to Ohio on the lake and buy TWO houses there.... Im not even joking… Or buy one cheaper and fix it up, or use the loan to buy like a camper or some shit. Again Ts job could go with him, so hes making good money But our mortgage would be hundreds less.

Ahhh, If wishes were horses. I would be riding not walking.

Nice thoughts though right?


Jinn January 21, 2024

I would move to the castle . Definitely .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ January 21, 2024

Right?! Like Ohio of all the hole in the wall never thought about it places lmao.

Small Town Girl January 22, 2024

Ughhh. I also hate Ohio! It's such a shitty, dumpy state. I have two friends who used to live there and hated it. Midwest is cheaper for sure, but not MN and WI is on the rise too. WI is becoming less financially livable too.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 22, 2024

A lot of states are. Colorado is insane and im in the bad part of the state technically. A lot of crime.
Im looking for the goldilocks of weather for a place to move eventually.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ January 22, 2024

Florida.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 23, 2024

No snow. I want SOME snow for Christmas...

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ January 23, 2024

If I never saw another snow fake for the rest of my life? I'd be totally happy with that!!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 24, 2024

I thought so too, Till i left the winter and had never ending summer and weird ass weather lmao. Two or three miniscule snows a year is not much at all.
I miss the peace of massive fat snowflakes falling and the silence it brings. That clean pristine look...

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ January 25, 2024

It is pretty. But MN is next level. We've had the 3rd most snow less winter in history this year. They're talking 50s next week. And I am totes cool with it!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 25, 2024

Alaska is having record snows this year lol.
I wouldent mind SOME for christmas!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.