#whyistayed in Not All Who Wander Are Lost

  • Sept. 9, 2014, 8:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m getting into it with this guy on a friend’s fb wall. She posted a Tedx talk from a woman about why abused women don’t leave with the comment that victim blaming/shaming needs to stop. A friend of hers commented that of course victim blaming is bad but why is he not “even allowed to ASK why women don’t leave???1eleventy” So I responded that it is because asking the question puts the onus on the victim and not the abuser. And then he wrote this long drawn out explanation that we should expect abusers to lie so therefore all we have to go from to find out the truth is to ask the victim.

Sigh.

So I responded BACK that what, to him, is a simple question with a simple answer is rarely, if ever, simple. And it’s just the wrong question to ask entirely, not just because it’s incredibly rude and insensitive to the victim but because even if they manage to crack the code of why women stay that is still only treating the symptom of the problem and not the actual cause.

So why did I stay? Well. I was 16. He was 21. It started out slowly. This was early days of AOL and he messaged me because I lived fairly close and we liked the same books. I tried to brush him off at first but he kept messaging me, emailing me, drawing me in. I had just moved from a very happy life in Tennessee to a very miserable one in North Carolina. I had no friends, no other siblings around, I hated school, I hated my town, I hated my body, I hated every single thing about my life. Except Mike. Mike was so sweet to me. He told me I was so smart, so mature for my age. Once I managed to get a picture online (this was 1995, remember) he told me I was beautiful. I couldn’t believe it, this 21 year old MAN was interested in ME, a worthless teenager. His emails got a little more romantic and I got a little weirded out so I tried to break it off with him. He lost it, asked me why I was doing this to him, he CARED so much about me, he was drowning and I was oxygen and I was cutting him off. How could I be so cruel to him? I didn’t last long.

We agreed to meet.

I lied to my parents. Told them he went to a different high school in town. He picked me up. He took me to a hotel room. I was 16. I was scared to death. He raped me.

I didn’t realize it was rape at the time, of course. I thought he talked me into it because he loved me, because he wanted to share this with me, because only I could give him what he needed. I shook and cried and he held me and I thought it was so sweet. I thought it was sweet.

We saw each other almost every weekend, not to mention the AOL chats in between. We got hotel rooms every time. Sometimes I wouldn’t want to have sex and he’d berate me for it. One time I got so fed up, I called a cab to come get me when he went into the bathroom. When he found out he was so upset, begged me not to leave, begged me to stay, told me it was okay, he loved me so much. I believed it. Every single word.

I loved Ford Eclipses back then. Like I’ve never cared much for cars but I just thought they were so pretty. He bought one, said he bought it for me. To this day the song One Headlight reminds me of driving around Greensboro in that car. After my sophomore year ended we moved to Ohio. Mike said he still wanted to date and even came up to Ohio to see me once. He proposed, we set a wedding date (June 21st, 1999 - about a month after graduation.)

Things got hard because, well, being away from him and in a healthy environment, with friends I adored and a school I loved, I realized I wasn’t healthy. A friend from school confessed he liked me and I talked to Mike about it. He told me I should date since I was so young and he was so far away. It would be okay. He had faith in us. The next morning he picked a fight with me and broke up with me. I was devastated. He waited a week. Mike wanted to talk. We tentatively got back together. We broke up again. On and on until I told him I just couldn’t speak to him anymore.

I found out much later one he’d been cheating on me for months, with several other women. One of them messaged me and we talked. She said she was going to try and work it out with him. I wished her good luck. I didn’t mean it.

It took me a really long time to come to terms with that part of my life. I carried a lot of guilt, a lot of “what ifs” and “why didn’t I?” And that is the thing . . . You don’t need to ask women why didn’t they leave because believe me, they wonder the exact same thing. But it’s not always as easy as that, it’s not always as simple as just walking away. And yeah, you could say I was young and naive and he got to me early, but that’s the THING, though, it wasn’t just . . . It was slow and gradual and I really believed that he was in love with me and I with him. And aren’t we always taught that true love wins out? I read my paper journal for that time and I just ache for that girl. And the last thing she needed to be asked is “why did you stay?”

Anyway. I really didn’t mean to verbally unload like that. And I don’t think I ever wrote about that on OD. But there it is. That’s my story.

+min


Last updated September 09, 2014


ManitouWolf September 09, 2014

Your story is very similar to mine. I was 13 and he was 16. And while he never harmed me sexually, I certainly was his punching bag for 2 and a half years. We're talking broken bones in the end. * shakes her head * And like you said, it starts off so gradually and they are always soooo very sorry when they hurt you and swear never to do it again, that you can't help but want to believe them.
I am glad you got out. And I mourn the women who were unable. I could have been one of those.

Minuete ManitouWolf ⋅ September 10, 2014

Only 13! Oh my goodness. hugs I was lucky in that I moved very far away from him and he was military and couldn't just pick up and leave either. I'm glad we both got out.

ManitouWolf Minuete ⋅ September 10, 2014

I sent mine to jail.

Deleted user September 09, 2014

Applying the word Rape to that situation does a real disservice to women who are actual rape victims. It may not have been right or fair but what you described above certainly was not rape.

Minuete Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2014

I was an unwilling partner coerced into sex. I was 16 and he was 21. It most certainly was rape.

Did you miss the part where I cried and shook the entire time? Or is it not rape because I wasn't drunk? Because it wasn't violent? Because I didn't fight back? Because I didn't technically say no and lack of a no seems to equal consent in this country? Because I think that does a real disservice to women and men who are raped but told "it's not actually rape."

Deleted user Minuete ⋅ September 11, 2014

I was not suggesting that the experience was not difficult for you. But it was one you made willingly. You chose to get in the car. You chose to maintain contact, answer emails, lie to your parents, you chose to go to the hotel room with him. you never told him you didn't want to do it. You didn't fight, you didn't scream. How exactly were you unwilling? the way it happened may have been something you had rather not done but he didn't put a gun to your head or beat you bloody. Your retroactively looking at an experience with older eyes and applying the label of rape because it absolves you of responsibility. There is an entire generation of women who seem to think they can blame others for their own poor judgements.

I am truly sorry if owning that decision is too difficult for you to stomach but that doesn't mean it was rape. Rape is when your girlfriend is hit in the back of head with a steel pipe before she dragged into an alley by 3 degenerates while they take turns destroying everything good and pure inside her for the better part of an hour, robbing her of any chance of ever being able to children because they thought it would be fun to violate her with a broken beer bottle. Rape is her bleeding out and no one answering her muffled crys for help or mercy. Rape is an assault, an act of hate and violence. it destroys people. Shatters them emotionally and psychologically, not an experience that grows into a marriage proposal. Not a decision you wished you hadn't made. but hey, whatdoiknow.jpg, I'd suggest you go to a Sexual Violence Support group and tell your story, and when they laugh you out of the room you can reevaluate your terminology.

Minuete Deleted user ⋅ September 11, 2014

Rape is not a contest. Because someone had a worse experience than me does not change the meaning of the word. I could explain it to you in excruciating detail if you'd like but I'd rather not. You are making a judgement call on years of MY LIFE based on a few paragraphs. You have no idea what went on in that hotel room so quit acting like you do.

Minuete Deleted user ⋅ September 11, 2014

You know what, dude? Quite honestly, I'm just done with you. Thank you for mansplaining to me what rape really is and invalidating my experience. That was not even what this entry was supposed to be about. I just wanted to speak about why women stay in abusive relationships and my own experience with it. I'd really appreciate it if you'd just leave me alone now.

pinkpunk Deleted user ⋅ September 16, 2014

Just because it wasn't violent and brutal doesn't mean it wasn't rape. Victims of molestation aren't violently and brutally attacked and may even appear to be "going along with it" but they are still victims. There is no textbook standard on what a rape looks like.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.