Apparently I need a title. in Not All Who Wander Are Lost

  • Sept. 7, 2014, 9:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I miss writing. I mean, in general. I haven’t been doing much of it lately, in blog form or story-wise. I’m supposed to be writing another erotic fanfic for a theatre production up in Grand Rapids, MI. I did Saved By the Bell last time. This time I’m doing fast food mascots. Anyway. The point is. No writing is getting done for that, or for my other fanfics, or for anything else and I miss it.

I miss writing here, too. Well “here” being “something OD-esque,” but you know what I mean. I miss my peeps, I miss reading, I miss noting. I just miss it. So I’m trying to change it. Starting right now. Because that’s really the best time to start something.

I got a job. I work in the accounting department of one of the biggest car dealerships in Toledo. Adam’s mother works there and they needed someone to fill in while their file clerk randomly took a week off. They liked me so much they kept me permanently and moved her to another department. Sorry not sorry. We get bagels every Thursday. I like the job a lot, I like working, it’s very nice.

The kids are all back in school. J’s in 8th (!!!) grade and spending his afternoons taking classes at the high school again. He’s taking band and algebra this year. Miss K is in 1st and loving everything about it, of course. I love dropping her off in the morning and seeing her run to her friends to chat before school starts. So cute. And Little E is in her second year of preschool and also staying after for daycare while I work. She LOVES staying after. I was seriously worried about how she’d handle it but it’s been a breeze. Adam’s dad watches her on Fridays when she doesn’t have preschool so that I don’t have to spend an extra day on daycare so that is nice. I was really surprised when he offered because they’ve never been super into being grandparents, but he seems to have a soft spot for Em.

Adam’s job continues to be miserable. However . . . He just applied for a job in Charleston, SC. Which, okay, the thought of leaving NW OH makes me nauseated. BUT. He went down there for work, it was only supposed to be a week, filling in at the BP plant down there. But they just ADORE him, and starting at like the second day there they have been asking him to apply for the permanent position of what he’s covering. And he sort of brushed it off but they kept asking him and even managed to keep him for another week even though he was supposed to be back in Toledo to fly to Tuscon with his boss yesterday. He already has an office down there. They invited him to a steak dinner. They really, really want him. So I jokingly said “if they offer you [insert amount of money that I can’t fathom actually making] then you can commute.”

And then they did.

So he applied.

There are 8 other applicants but it just feels like he has a really good shot at it. And, god, my husband could have a job where he’s not miserable every day? And his company doesn’t treat him like shit after 10 years of busting his ass for them? And pay him what he’s actually worth?

We’ll see. The possibility of moving and how that would work we’ll deal with once he actually gets the job. But my goooooooood we could have moonnneeeeeeyyyyy. Like we get by as a family of five on Adam’s very paltry salary and this is like 3 times that. I can’t . . . Even . . . Geeze. So say your prayers, guys, we could use them.

My dad I can’t really talk about right now.

But all in all . . . Life is really good. The last few days have been pretty nice and fall like after a few warmer days. I went to the farmer’s market with my friend Heather on Saturday and it was lovely. I made eggplant parmigiano and a peach pie with my buys and got zucchini to make zucchini bread. It’s time to BAKE.

Lot’s of other fun stuff coming up . . . My friend Jen’s birthday and Ju and I are making her a TARDIS cake, then Myst’s birthday and I am making my pumpkin spice and fig filled cupcakes. Game night at the library, the erotic fanfic in October, a movie I was in is premiering in October as well. NaNo is soon. Kids and friends and life. It’s good.

Life’s good.

+min


The Thirsty Oriental September 07, 2014

Erotic fanfic involving food mascots? Am I reading that correctly? Very interesting!

Minuete The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ September 07, 2014

Haha, yes, you are reading that correctly. ;) It starts out with Ronald McDonald getting trashed at the White Castle and goes from there.

The Thirsty Oriental Minuete ⋅ September 07, 2014

I... Must see this. Hahahahaha

Minuete The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ September 07, 2014

I promise you can if I ever finish it. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.