Merry Christmas in Journal

  • Dec. 25, 2023, 12:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The kids’ nativity scene that they can play with (it’s doesn’t last long set up lol)
IMG-20231225-151750532

My cat is a one person cat. She hates everyone else but loves me- I’m her car mom since I found her when she was a wee kitten and saved her. This is how she gets close without dealing with the kids lol
IMG-20231222-123812275

One of my projects- the meat rabbits (and now one fiber rabbit). It’s a very limited space to work with but I managed to produce over 100lbs of meat this year. I just added the tarp. It will roll down in very inclement weather and prevent moisture or wind from disturbing the rabbits- very important for kindling does and their kits.
IMG-20231225-140456373

Just our table. There is a lamp on it because our over head wiring is still not done. I find the basic simplicity of the setting with only us and our home raised when possible, home cooked meals just very… Wholesome. In a foundational way that gives a very concrete base of contentment to my emotional life. This is in stark contrast to what it was like for me growing up.
IMG-20231126-152044521

DH got me some wonderful gifts, one of which was a cast iron dutch oven. We walked around town-it is just very nice out and super warm outside, almost 50F. He mentioned that he looked up the prices of the Dutch ovens to compare, and had an egads moment seeing the Le Creuset brand price. Also that he remembered that my mom got one from dad for Xmas and made a big deal about it one year.
Now I don’t remember this particular gift or incident, but their behavior was probably invisible to me through normalizing.
We talked a bit about how my parents’ relationship is based on vanity, status signaling, etc.
And also about how DH accepted gifts from his dad instead of just saying no. We had talked about it before (DH even mentioned it) but we thought it might be a version of passive aggression for DH to keep his dad hoping. It is perhaps anger or hatred that motivates this kind of stringing along.

Anywho. Merry Christmas 🎄


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.