Gifts. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Dec. 25, 2023, 10:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The big sister came through last night. She gave my daughter a couple of gifts and then left 2 full garbage bags in my car and then a couple of big gifts. We went over to my brothers for a little while and she got a thing of bath bombs and a squishmallow. She’s opened some presents again this morning. We have about 6 left and I have a couple of bags of stuff in my trunk for her. She was so worried she wasn’t going to get much for Christmas and she’s gotten a huge load of stuff.

The big sister even got me a couple of candles, a big thing of Dove chocolates, slippers, a robe, a metal tin with a $100 gift card! Holy shit, I definitely wasn’t expecting that! She even got my daughter the Gabby’s Dollhouse she wanted and that was like $50!! I feel bad that she went all out because all we got her was a sugar cookie mix and some candies. I seriously feel awful! She even got me a $20 gift card for McDonald’s. Ugh, I just hate the gift giving thing because I never have a lot of money to get things for other people. I struggle to get stuff even for my kid.

My brother keeps telling me that BD has gifts for her and I told him we’ve heard that same song and dance a thousand times. I’d rather he not have gotten her anything because that gets to be used as a weapon. I really like not having any contact with him and worrying that he’s going to ruin the holidays for me. I’d prefer that we just leave shit alone. I feel until he’s paying CS and wants to make a custody arrangement in writing, I have nothing more to say. I have since given up and I really don’t care if that’s not narrative fitting for everyone else.

We’re just hanging out at home. It’s really cold and windy today. I think it might snow which I hope it does because then it makes me feel more justified to stay home. I wish we had people to spend holidays with but we never do. I’m just glad my daughter has gotten a lot of great gifts to keep her busy.

I’m still pretty worried about the amount of my rent but hopefully I’ll know by Tuesday so I can be done thinking about it. I’m just scared it’s going to be a huge amount and I’m still going to be just as broke as I already am. It’s like the world doesn’t want you to ever have any money and be able to start climbing out of poverty. You take a lot of losses by getting a job, that’s for damn sure. I don’t know if they’ll go by my gross or not but I also won’t work 20 hours a week every week.

No matter what, I’m going to keep grinding. I refuse to give up. I ain’t trying to sit around and not work anymore. Someday I’ll get us where I want us to be. There will come a day where I’ll be able to work more. I do wish I could do the job where I was before because that’s where the real money is but I can’t for now. I just want to live comfortably and never have to want for anything. I don’t want to be rich but just be able to afford to live without being super stressed about money all the fucking time.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.