Flow State. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Dec. 13, 2023, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’d swear I tried writing about this concept, but it was definitely years ago.

At least in terms of lifting, I like working in three week cycles.

It’s… not unlike college semesters. How long between exams? About 3-4 weeks. You grind for a few weeks. You have your peak point. Then you start your next studying cycle. What you learned the previous few weeks isn’t so far way. And your next checkpoint isn’t so far away.

Contrast that with high school, which is FAR TOO LONG for one single subject.

I know I sound crazy when I say I missed the structure of high school when I finished. But, it was the structure. I knew exactly what I would be doing every single day. It was easy to relax after school, as time was limited. Dorming was a nightmare because I had SO MUCH TIME ON MY HANDS. I had UNLIMITED time to study. Making made me want to escape.

Why the hell do you think I played Sim2 so much. : P

It’s fascinating that I’ve been most content when I’m busy as hell. With so many scheduled things, school, work. It’s easy to say “Well, I ONLY have time here, so I better do THIS here.”


I guess I’m again reconstructing a flow state. The three week cycle means I pretty much know what I’m doing for the next three weeks. And based on each workout, I can plot the session three weeks after.

But, I’m not doing much else in life.

Being bored is, at times, more stressful than being occupied, as you have more time to think. At the risk of nihilism, we must suffer to have joy. Only by enduring our time “on”, can we savor our time “off”.

But, you knew that.

I know - I just need more responsibility. And that’s not something that can be particularly artificial. I need more. But, at least I’m starting to trickle. I need more to have a better flow state.


Oh. Was going to make a one-off entry about this: I vacuumed. Yes, I sucked hard. Twice in two weeks, in fact. All the time I thought my red horrific eyes was systemic damage due to liver crossfit.

No, my carpet was irritating my eyes. Maybe allergy, maybe mold.

I washed my sheets, vacuumed, and OVERNIGHT, my eyes stopped being irritated first thing in the morning. You know that light sensitivity in the morning? That would last for at least three hours.

IT’S GONE.

Man, at least know I have a real reason to do such a frivolous activity. Vacuuming sucks. Dirt out of the carpet.


Mister Who specials are enjoyable. Looking forward to Doctor Tromboner.

alt text

alt text


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.