48: Countdowns are a bad idea in Diary

  • Aug. 31, 2014, 7:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think this will be the last numbered entry for a while. After I wrote the title, the thought came to me that if I keep counting down I’ll end up putting more and more unnecessary pressure on myself until it gets to be too much for me and I falter in my goal to finish the novel by my birthday. Well, the first draft. Maybe that wouldn’t be the case, but I’m going to play it safe and avoid any countdowns until (or if) I make it to 10.

Yesterday I got more than my quota done by about 200 words, which was nice. Instead of subtracting the extra from today’s writing, though, which thought did cross my mind as I sat down at the computer, I decided instead that I would write at least my quota every day, no matter how much I go over. I figure that way I’ll get used to doing this day in and day out, and if I need a day off or two at some point between now and my birthday, I’ll be able to take that time without worrying about failing at my goal.

Today I worked on a scene leading up to a battle, of sorts. Tomorrow’s writing will consist of said battle, which will hopefully be easier to write than all the dialogue and the to-ing and fro-ing I’ve been doing with the characters, lately. We’ll see. Either way, it will be what it will be.

I’m going to do my best to get to bed earlier, tonight, so I can get an earlier start on my day tomorrow. Tomorrow shouldn’t be too bad. I’m just doing a spot of shopping, paying some car insurance, and maybe riding out to my dad’s house to pick up some books, clothes, and my old OD printouts. Nothing high-pressure or anything. It will be nice to get out of the house, anyway. And as much as I don’t like spending money, it will feel good to have new clothes I can feel comfortable in.

I’m just about to have some lunch, and then I will do my best to enjoy the rest of the day. If I feel inspired to do some more writing, I will do that. If not, I’ll be lazy and play video games and listen to “podcasts”. There really needs to be another word for those things, as not everyone uses an iPod to listen to those programs. I haven’t owned one since mine was lost/stolen at Robert’s house a couple years ago. I’m still really suspicious that he or his girlfriend stole it, or one of the other band members. Anyway, I’m still annoyed by that, not just because I lost one of my favorite toys, but because I lost 11 or 12 songs I had written. Grrr. Arrgh. It’s fine, though. I did dream of playing my keyboard, last night, oddly enough.

I also dreamed about my ex and some of the friends I knew through her, which I subsequently lost after we broke up. The dream involved Lesley’s birthday party. I had forgotten to put a shirt on for some reason, so I was constantly trying to keep the coat I was wearing closed so as not to expose myself to everyone. Anyway, random dream.

Well, have a good one, everyone. I’m off to the great white north.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.