Days One Through Three (I'm Forty Days Sober Today) in Rehab Chronicles

  • Dec. 6, 2023, 12:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day 1
10/30 Monday

It was a bit intimidating at first but everyone was welcoming which put my mind at ease. Found out that one of the counselors is a sci-fi/comic guy. We’ve since talked extensively about our interests. My lower back started hurting bad because of the wooden chairs. Sleep was decent that night. I started A Confederacy Of Dunces. The main character is a big, fat, insufferable know-it-all. Reminds me too much of my former coworker Sarge. My roommate is a bi-polar fentanyl user/heroin addict who has OD’d several times.

Day 2
10/31 Halloween Tuesday

Somewhat a bit tougher. Learned just how much of a comic guy that counselor is. A signed Carnage poster from the artist who first drew him. I thought that was pretty cool. The group counselor was in a very pissy mood and her negative energy brought me down.

My back still hurts bad so I saw the nurse who keeps our medication for some Tylenol. As we talked I learned she’s a reader, too. Awesome! She informed me that she’ll get some Icy Hot and IBPROFEREN for my back.

Towards the end of the night I started feeling alone, depressed and homesick. I wanted to smoke more than five cigarettes a day, I wanted a Mt. Dew, I wanted my PS4 and above all I wanted my cats. I had a nightmare that I had an extensive Lego set collection that someone completely destroyed. I woke up a few times but was able to get back to sleep. The nurse and second shift night tech brought us cookies which was nice.

Day 3
11/1 (November, I’ll miss Thanksgiving)

It’s currently eight after ten. I’m awaiting my cigarette. Pissy Pants is in a better mood. I’m still a bit weary of her. Comic book counselor just says to avoid her when she’s like that. Sounds like being around my middle brother back in the day. Walking on eggshells to appease just one person is utter bullshit!

Interesting turn of events. (Trigger Warning. I say some vile things in the next bit.) Administrator here I went to high school with. Interesting talk. The old school bully is in prison for murder. Good! Fuck him! I hope he gets raped.

https://www.waaytv.com/news/huntsville-man-gets-life-sentence-for-2020-shooting/article_cbdd2a28-25ae-11ed-9433-7f3af7e75697.html

Also learned the asshole CBT therapist I used to see is a major creep. My gut feeling was right. Also learned two I was acquainted with are in and out of jail constantly.

I’m redacting the next part.

Continued, I just assisted with removing Halloween decorations. The temperature has dropped significantly. I hope my outdoor kitties keep warm. I hope mom is okay. I can only imagine the vitriol I’ll face when getting home. Everyone will know I’m in rehab. The last thing I need is more fucking judgement.

To be continued…

As the title says, 40 days sober!!!


Last updated December 06, 2023


Palmtreesandzebras December 06, 2023

Congrats on 40 days sober! Thats amazing.

Im glad you are posting journal entires from when you were in rehab. I think its good for people to see it.

Walking Crow December 06, 2023

CONGRATS! Tackle Hugs
Cheering you onward!!!

little_halfmoon December 06, 2023

Good on you for being sober for 40 days! Keep it up fella.

J.E. little_halfmoon ⋅ December 06, 2023

Thankies doll!

little_halfmoon J.E. ⋅ December 06, 2023

You are so welcome ❤️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.