Good Day Back in Hello

  • Nov. 30, 2023, 12:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ma and I went to Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast. She ate, I didn’t as I had oatmeal before I left River Valley. It was nice to come home and cuddle up with Lily. She had purrs in store for me. We did do lunch at Viethouse and I got the Drunken Noodles with chicken. Then I drove us (man I missed driving) to the Jones Valley shopping center. I picked up two Christmas presents for her at Hobby Lobby, three used games at GameStop and ironically didn’t find anything at Barnes and Noble. There was a western I thought about but talked myself out of it.

Okay, that last sentence will need an explanation. While in rehab I read ten books. Five of which belonged to the facility. They were westerns. I had never read one before and didn’t want to burn through the three books I brought with me. They were campy but I really enjoyed them. No wonder my Papa read them all the time. So I found the origin book of one of the characters at the store. BUT! It’s book 26 in the series. Yes, you read that right. Ha! I really don’t need another book series.

We went to Publix after for a few provisions and I picked up a sushi roll to eat with my lunch leftovers. It might sound silly but I enjoyed it the whole time. The little things you take for granted you miss the most when they are stripped from you.

We were only allowed five cigarette breaks a day in rehab which was reduced to three yesterday because we were getting punished for two others who were kicked out because of their mistakes. Truth is admin didn’t want to admit fault (she’s on thin ice*) and blamed us for not telling her what was going on. It’s a coed building. Some stupid teenager came in and flirted hardcore with one of the guys. Well, I caught her leaving his room on the male side. I TOLD ADMIN what happened. She was kicked out, arrested and taken back to jail. (Probation violation.) He was kicked out and fled on foot instead of waiting on the sheriff’s deputies. But somehow it’s our fault? There were flared tempers during that meeting when all that shit came rolling down on us

*The thin ice is they had a staff member who stole A LOT of money off three clients and she didn’t catch it till too late. Apparently the higher ups ripped her a new asshole for not catching it earlier. So I guess blaming us made her look good? One client was ripped off of $2,400. He won’t see a penny back of that money for in the guidelines we signed it says they aren’t responsible for thefts. I guess that includes theft of money from staff, too.

How did she have his info? She was doing a store run for clients and he gave her his card and pin number so she would get him a carton of smokes and some junk food. She fled, too, but was arrested the other day in Tennessee. That put a stop to store runs that day. Punishment for staff’s actions.

See, joke of a facility.

More to come!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.