Sun Day in Current Events

  • Nov. 27, 2023, 12:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my first experience with acupuncture today. We also did cupping. It wasn’t painful but it wasn’t pleasant either. I’m not sure what I was expecting, to be honest. We worked on my shoulder which will require a few more sessions. We did my lower back as well. It’s hard to tell if I am experiencing any real relief in my shoulder right now because my arm just kind of feels traumatized at the moment.

The thermal spa that my roommate wants us to go to has RMTs (registered massage therapists) which my group benefits cover at work. Leanne told me that I am allowed to stay and use the facilities so I am going to look into that loophole so I can make it as cost effective as possible. I am trying to use up my group benefits at the last second. I know I’m not the only one doing that.

My brunch with the girls was a brutal experience. We went to our usual falafel place because we love it there but today they had flies, for starters. Our orders were not organized and Leanne has been ill all day from it. We are going to try and find a new venue after this bad experience.

I am not letting myself go to the gym today. I went way too hard yesterday. At least, way too long. I don’t want to become a gym rat either. It would have been 4 days at the gym and I’m just not my roommate. She’s at her boxing gym 7 days a week. To be fair, she volunteers there and also trains people there. She really wants me to try it out. I want to fix my shoulder first.

I don’t have good upper body strength, I realized. I can’t do a pull-up. Can I even do a pushup anymore? I will work on that. There was a yoga channel on YouTube that I was doing a few months ago which I could tell was building upper body strength. I want to do that in the mornings before work. That will never happen but I should aim to do it every day. I do have time after my shifts if I skip the naps.

The girls and I were talking about our gyms and the gym culture. Carly suggested we all go together sometime so she can show us the ropes. She used to be an athletic therapist. Literally less than a month ago. We were talking about all the things we wish we knew how to do there and she really wants to teach us. It could be fun. We know Ange will sit that one out.

I suspect that when my grandmother goes grocery shopping with my mother, she isn’t allowed to buy herself candy. She stocks up when she goes with me. We take turns taking her. I try to be supportive of my mother who took on the responsibility of taking care of her mother. My aunt and uncle never stepped up. I remember the trauma of that health scare we had with her a few years ago. She got the clotshot and started clotting. We were in the middle of moving her, my mother and I, while she was in the hospital. I wasn’t allowed to visit her because I didn’t take the gene therapy that had zero data on safety or efficacy. We didn’t know if we were wasting our time or not. We were strong until it came down to hanging up her clothes and putting away her jewelry. It felt so intimate. It was sad. She pulled through and we are very happy about that. I played Christmas music in the car for us.

My mother’s side is Mennonite. She had a DNA test done and is 75% Germanic and 22% Swedish but their upbringing was Mennonite. My grandmother moved to the city after her first husband died. My grandfather died young, he was only 30. She moved to the city to remarry. My father’s side is Ojibwe. First Nations. They went through the residential schools. Survived the the ’60s scoop. That side of the family is a hot mess. My grandfather opened a family church. I’m the grandson of a preacher man. A reverend. He passed away in the summer. There is a rich history on both sides.

Am I writing to avoid:
A) Studying
B) School
C) Homework
D) All The Above

I told my roommate that I would make a lasagna so I’m not going to edit this entry. I’m serving it to PB raw. Muahaineedhelphahaha


KissOfLife! November 28, 2023

Agreed with you on the acupuncture feeling! So strange isn't it? I too had it on my lower back last month, and she put one in my upper booty and my reflex almost punched her lol. She said that was the response she was looking for. But anyway, it just felt weird and I don't think it did much tbh. I didn't do the cupping though, looks nasty.
Yes, def make use of those work benefits.

Zampano December 01, 2023

Yeah, the strength thing. It's so psychological. I am exceptionally strong, yet, I am having moments of weakness where I cannot find my strength. From my meditations, I believe it has to do with a collective strength. There is weakness in my immediate network, or I am losing pillars of strength in my life. (i.e. my grandmother had a stroke recently. I remember feeling very weak before my other grandmother passed away.)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.