nv26 in idea barrages

  • Nov. 26, 2023, 12:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. There’s probably, right now, a dude in England who sleeps around a lot nicknamed Randy Travis who doesn’t even know that there was a mediocre country singer in America who came by the name honestly.

  2. There was a song I heard once, at Goodbye Blue Monday, with a line something like “I can’t decide if you should love me more or I should love you less” and it was heartbreakingly beautiful, but I don’t remember anything else about it, except that the singer was rather lovely and had just come back from California. It was just at an open mic, I don’t think she had a record contract or anything and there’s no way to find it again. Life is like this. Sometimes the things you’ll never find again but carry bits of in you anyway are the most beautiful thing of all. Imagine if I had been able to ruin the moment for myself by whipping out a phone with good video recording features and spending the whole time trying to get a good film of it instead. I would have the thing but would have lost the power of its meaning. We and everything we know will, in time, dissipate like the morning dew in the full warmth of 830AM. At least at 545AM know the dew in its radiant fullness, don’t be distracted trying to save it forever. Then you just miss twice.

  3. It isn’t “superhero fatigue”. It’s just that superhero movies are no longer novel, you’re not going to go see a movie just because it’s a comic book property. That ended after Endgame, ironically enough. A comic book movie has to at least be pretty-good for people to go see it. That’s a good thing.

  4. If your strip espresso bar isn’t called THE GRIND, why are you even combining those two business models?

  5. UPDATE: Ollie the dog’s newest nickname is “Count Chonkula” and he enjoys it well.

  6. No, the WORST idea for a parody song is to write to the tune of “Black Hole Sun” on the topic of the short-lived cartoon series “Popeye and Sons”.

  7. I hate footnotes and citation with deep and abiding passions. Garfield and Mondays ain’t got nothing on me and the MLA. It’s basically why I got a film degree instead of journalism or English. It’s why I’ll never go to grad school. I don’t mind giving a bibliography of what influenced my ideas but line-by-line citation is tedious “Egyptian scribes making hieroglyphics more complicated just so they can keep their jobs” make-work. If you want to know that influence, please, read the entire thing I’m referencing, don’t make me tell you four lines from that thing to “prove” one line from mine. We aren’t calculating chemical reactions here, we are dancing with words. Jeeby Creebie. Academic overthinking for its own sake rubbish. (At least for my purposes, of course.)

  8. I should’ve known there was a furry convention coming up at the hotel where I was staying when, at check-in, they asked “smoking or nyan-smoking?”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.