Busy day! in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Nov. 16, 2023, 7:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got my kid to school and then sat in my thing for about an hour and a half. I took my car to the tire store and then my lady picked me up where she took all of us to get interview clothes. We then went back to the job fair and they wanted me to talk to the after school program and I did. I made sure to apply. I think that would be a great job for me because I would be able to be with my daughter and I wouldn’t have to work until afternoon. I then got back to my car and I have to leave again soon to pick up medication for my appointment in the morning and go get my kid.

I’m hell bent that I’m going to get a fucking job. I seriously don’t even care what it is but I just want to work again and be able to move on from this rut. I’m hoping I’ll hear from the after school program soon.

My car has brand new tires on it. I have never had a full set of tires on it that were all brand new at the same time. It rides so much better. It seriously feels like a brand new car. It handles better, stops on a dime, and is just an absolute dream now.

So there’s a girl that’s going to take me to my appointment in the morning. She’s very nice and I don’t know her very well but she’s very friendly and talkative. I’m nervous because they’ve told me that it’s pretty painful but hopefully this is going to be the last thing I have to do. I definitely hope to feel relief with this one.

There’s a girl in TANF that has been there since I was there almost a year ago. My caseworker was annoyed that she was wearing sweat pants and you could tell she wasn’t trying to talk to employers at all. I just don’t get where you can be on TANF for months, years at at time and never plan to work! I will say that we’ve ALL been dealt a shitty hand but it’s up to us how we play it. With what you get paid on TANF, it’s not enough to support yourself, your kids, and be able to buy a car. I know that if I didn’t have a car, I would be figuring out SOMETHING IMMEDIATELY so that I would be able to provide my offspring with transportation. I sit there and wonder like how they really get around and take their kids to stuff.

TANF has a lot of good points such as it’s income that you don’t have to report so it doesn’t affect your benefits. It’s good because the schedule is more laid back than a job would be. It’s easy to the extent that you just sit there and work on your own stuff. But once you get a job, you will get an extra check and they will still help with car repairs and gas. By getting a job, you are going to be able to plan a nice tax refund and pull yourself out of poverty. Staying on TANF for too long just becomes a crutch and you aren’t doing anything productive for yourself or your kids.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.