The Personhood of Theseus. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Nov. 15, 2023, 4:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The concept of “growing up” and “acting/being” an adult is silly. Almost a misconception. As if we Pokemon morph into a different person.

I don’t know a single friend who has drastically changed. I know friends who are simply more and more themselves with age.

While my censor will vary, and the phrasing I may use certainly has evolved, the style of shite that comes out of my mouth hasn’t changed much. That is, if someone I knew twenty years ago were to talk to me now, I could shoot my mouth off and they’d go.

“Yup, he’s still Timmy™.”

Haha.

I don’t know, even when friends make “drastic changes” in their life, every time there’s always a bit of, “yeah, that makes sense, that’s something they would do.”

I was right, all those years ago. I/we don’t really change, we just become more ourselves.


Sleepy-Eyed John November 15, 2023

:)

I heard people change every 5 years, but maybe personality is more fixed.

Timmy™ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 15, 2023

Our life might change, our wisdom might evolve. But deep down, I feel the same.

Sleepy-Eyed John Timmy™ ⋅ November 16, 2023

Ya. I heard personality is fixed by grade school. like you said, we learn to handle ourselves differently over time, but i think there's more to people than just personality. And I've heard we change every 5 years. maybe not perceptibly though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.