Three more days of unemployment in Diary

  • Aug. 29, 2014, 12:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The start date for my training is coming right up, this coming Monday. I’m looking forward to finally having something productive to do with my time. Granted, I have been writing a fair amount, lately, but that’s pretty much the only productive activity I’ve done in the longest time. Otherwise I’ve just been wasting my days, drinking too much and gaming too much. Also, whenever I’ve been unemployed I’ve struggled with depression. It’s strange, because usually I am not a depressed person. There are times when I can get depressed, or overly anxious, but it’s generally uncommon.

I managed to finally finish up chapter 20 and start chapter 21, this afternoon. I’m just plugging away at it, really. But the writing seems to be going well. The more I work on it, the easier ideas come to me on how I can keep the story going, how I can continue to develop the plot and tie up any loose ends, etc.

My main desire with the story at this point is to bring Carmen back into the mix as a vampire. And then I’ll deal with the explanation of what “pulling the pin” means and its consequences, in addition to fleshing out Aeirie’s character more and clearing up what exactly the Black Hand is planning. Anyway, that all probably sounds like a garbled mess, and maybe it is, but I think I can make this thing work.

Speaking of my teeth, they seem to be doing better than they were when I wrote my last entry. I think that nearly all of the pain I was experiencing was due to me flossing too much where one of my teeth broke. Of course, I still have cavities and I still need to see a dentist, but I don’t feel like it’s as much an emergency as I made it out to be. If I can maintain until I get dental insurance, which is hardly more than 30 days from today, I feel like that would be the smartest thing for me to do. And in the event any of my teeth start hurting between now and then, I’ll bite the bullet and get in to see a dentist.

Back to talking about my story: I’m at roughly 75,275 words at this point, not counting the 450-something words I’ve written so far on chapter 21. I had it in my head as a goal when I started getting serious about this project to get to 100,000 total words before wrapping up the first draft. That would mean another 6 or 7 chapters, assuming I keep my chapter length around 4000 words. But, I’m afraid it will take me at least 10, probably 12 more, before I’ll feel comfortable saying the first draft is finished and it’s time to rewrite. But who knows. I don’t know what will happen until it happens, so I’ll just hang on for the ride and do my best to not suck too badly.

I know I didn’t write about anything interesting in this entry, but I guess this is all I have to say for now. Take care.


ElvenAssassin August 29, 2014

Hey, word count is interesting! I just wish I could recall what is the recommended number to shoot for. 100k, I think?

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ August 29, 2014

From what I've gathered by reading various articles and interviews with certain authors, 100,000 is within the recommended range, albeit it's slightly on the high end. I think 100k translates to about 400 pages in book form. Personally, I try not to get too wrapped up in word count...it's just a way for me to restrict my writing to certain parameters, so my chapters aren't too long or too short, and it helps me keep track of where I want to be in the overall story, plot-wise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.