Jobs, MRI, life. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Oct. 28, 2023, 9:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I had a phone interview a couple of days ago and then I got the email yesterday saying they were going to pursue other people. I don’t really care because the pay was like $11/hr! I have another phone interview in a minute for a place right down the street with hours that would work for me. I do have another interview Tuesday morning after I get my kid to school. It’s definitely not really a place I’d like to work at but I’d be able to pick my schedule. I plan to at least see what the pay is and go from there.

My brother and his girlfriend are going to another town tonight to drink and have fun. I’d go but I don’t have a sitter. He was going to ask my Mom until I said no because I’m not going to deal with her over here eating all of our food and then having to give her gas and cigarettes. He mentioned maybe her Dad watching her but then I’d have to worry about him talking shit about me to her and then the behavioral issues like I did last year. I admit, I’d love to be able to go out once in a while but I need to start diligently trying to find a sitter. The other day some lady posted saying she hadn’t gotten a break in about 3 years and wanted someone to look after her kid for the night and people wanted $200-$300!!! Like holy fuck! She said, “my mental health can wait” and I completely get it!!

I wish it was easier to find sitters that are affordable but people are fucking greedy! Part of the problem is so many daycares here have shut down so there’s a higher need for care and people take advantage of that. I would definitely like to find someone to help me out sometimes but I seriously would never be able to afford them. I also have serious issues trusting people as well. I also can’t stand feeling like my kid is just a paycheck either.

So, I had my phone interview. I got hired. I didn’t bother to tell them that I may not have childcare over Thanksgiving or Christmas. Maybe I’ll find help by then. I just didn’t feel like dropping that bomb until later on. They’re hiring a bunch of people so maybe it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. The pay is pretty decent too.

It sounds like a decent job, I just hope that I will be able to be on my feet. I’m concerned about child care but he said they’re taking everyone they can get so hopefully it won’t be an issue if I have days where I can’t be in. I’ll do my very best to communicate ahead of time as well.

My kid is taking a nap. I tried to but couldn’t fall asleep even though I was struggling to stay awake while we watched a movie. There’s a Halloween thing later that I want to take her to. It’s cold and I’d rather stay home but we need to get out of the house. I’m so not ready for these cold days. It snowed yesterday and it got pretty slippery outside. I saw a car spin out on the way to get her.

My brother is going to have a good time tonight. His kid is going to a birthday party so they don’t have to worry about childcare. It’s great how he’s always told me that I’m not missing nothing even though he gets to always plan to do shit on weekends. I haven’t had a break for almost 3 months again. But, this is how it is until she’s old enough to be home by herself. I’m just frustrated that I never get to plan anything on weekends though. I love my daughter and taking her to do stuff is fun because she’s gone so much during the week but I just wish there was ever someone to come with us.

I had my MRI yesterday. I really hate getting that done and low key hope to never have to have one again. It’s just really uncomfortable laying still in a tube for 20 minutes. The time doesn’t go by fast enough.

I woke up a couple of nights ago and realized that I need to get off TANF. I really hope this job pans out and I can make scheduling work because the longer I’m on TANF, the more the state will get should he ever decide to pay. I just want to have my own job and make my own money. I also don’t want to plan on sitting in that room much longer. I know that once I get a job, I’ll get an extra payment and they are still planning to help with tires so I don’t want to drop the ball on the job until that happens. Winter here is brutal and I’m well overdue for new tires.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.