The Dentist in Me Being Me

Revised: 10/28/2023 7:17 a.m.

  • Oct. 28, 2023, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I got part of mt root canal and it all went good. I didn’t feel any pain except when the one needle went in and the two others I didn’t feel at all. Then I find out that I am going to have to pay more then $1000.00 out of my pocket because the dentist didn’t tell me this last week. I wish I would have been told then maybe I wouldn’t have gotten it done or even try to find a way to borrow the money from someone. So I was told that I will be okay for a while then the tooth will start to bother me then I will have to have it pulled because that is all my insurance will do. I eveidently only have basic dental. Not sure what that intells but oviously it’s not a good thing.
I wish people and businesses would be more transparent and tell people exactly what is covered or where their money is going towards. I think people who are not transparent are lieing or lieing by ommission and that is not a good thing.So I figure maybe I can save a little money every month and maybe in two years I will have enough to cover this crown. I am just wondering if it will be too late or not? I hope not. But then I can always get a false tooth and then it will look okay? Fortunatly for me it’s a back toolseen. I could aways ask my mom but then I always feel like I am not very independent and I feel like a failure. But I will be thinking about this and try to come up with something.

Onto something else…

It’s 68.4 inside and 35 F outside and it feels as cold as it is outside and all I can do is use my heating pad. I am not going to use the stove because hubby explained to me why I shouldn’t and it made perfect sense to me so because of him I won’t use it. And the space heater I have will trip the circut box because there are too many things on one circut so I can’t use it. See the slum lord never did tell me why I couldn’t use a space heater. If she had I would have understood and not gotten one. But all she told me was that it uses too much electricity and is a fire hazzard. And that didn’t make sense to me because the newer ones are now made where they turn off if knocked over or once they get to the tempature they are set at. And by law they have to follow the safty standards of Canada. So what I have asked hubby is that everyday that it’s below freezing if the heat can be turned up to compisate and then I won’t be so cold. But he thinks she won’t do that because she hasn’t so far.

Onto something else....

I got some chicken yesterday so I think that is what will be for dinner. Not sure what else but maybe hubby will suggest something before he goes to work. And today I am going to run some errands with my brother in law and hopefully I can also get his holiday present. And then I will be done everyone.
Well, I need to stop here and try to get more warm.
Do have a great day....
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe, and Behave.


Last updated October 28, 2023


Wit' or witout October 28, 2023

Maybe you can pay the dentist a little every month until it is paid off. It is not ethical when they are not upfront with costs. Tell them that price is a hardship for you on a fixed income and could they charge you less. Good luck.

Jodie Wit' or witout ⋅ October 28, 2023

Well, I did tell them that I wouldd never beable to afford that much and then I told them I would be homeless and starve and all they said was We understand. But I did think about a little at a time and I still have to ask them about that. But I think Hubby will help me out.

Anaiss October 28, 2023

My dentist is always very transparent about costs. It's a shame your dentist wasn't. Dental care is so expensive, but very necessary. You can actually die from infections caused by bad teeth.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ October 28, 2023

I know. But that is Canada for you..Always for the big dollars.

toddslife October 28, 2023

wow that is cold 35 F outside its 51 F outside for us right now but going to be cold starting tomorrow

Jodie toddslife ⋅ October 28, 2023

it's 49 from when you typed this...plus 23 minutes have gone by...

theKat October 28, 2023

our dentist usually make people pay up front before work is done so this does not happen.

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 28, 2023

well my dentist knew I didn't have the coverage and they never did tell me I was told all of it was covered. I would have paid up front if I had the time to figure out how I was paying but I didn't have that....

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 28, 2023

you have no choice here... no pay no service.

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 29, 2023

Yeah I know....But I did e-mail them and ask them how much the crown costs and also asked why they didn't tell me I would need to pay for the crown out if my pocket. They should have told me so I could make an informed decision of what I need to do to get the money.

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 29, 2023

that is so sad... here you go thru a treatment plan with someone. they explain everything needed to be done and a break down of every thing with the cost. You have to get a crown soon or it will rot your tooth and the root canal will be worthless to save the tooth

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 29, 2023

I know and the only thing is if I don't get it there is nothing more they can do execpt pull it and I don't want that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.