Award take two in Bittersweet

  • Oct. 26, 2023, 8:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tomorrow is the other award ceremony. This one I was nominated by my CEO for a personal award.
This award is designed to recognize an outstanding individual with lived experience who works to improve conditions for and attitudes towards people with mental illness. In other words, they are making major contributions to improve the lives of people who have mental illnesses, substance use, or cooccurring disorders despite potential risks to career, finances, and public acceptance.

I was picked over the clinical director which shocks me.
I need to write a speech so here is what im thinking ( if I wan)

I am grateful for the opportunity that CEO has given me. She chose me to be her employee despite having no experience in the field. In my years at job, I have been able to get to know the people in my community and have been able to find out the things that they need. Being able to be a stepping stone in their journey has made me so grateful to be a part of their journey.
Ive always thought that the more we are vocal and real about the things we have gone through. The more we remove the stigma for mental health and trauma. The more we can normalize these things the better off our community and our people are. Being able to act as a cornerstone and a support for others inspires me to be a better person and to continue to grow. I believe that when we continue to take a step forward, every day despite the road blocks placed in our way, that we will find ways to succeed. We are not victims of our circumstances, rather we can and will overcome them. If at the end of the day, I have helped make someone smile, been a source of comfort, inspiration, peace or just a friendly face. Then I know I have done something I can celebrate and be proud of.

How does that sound? Discombobulated?


Small Town Girl October 27, 2023

Very exciting to have been nominated! Speech sounds good to me!

Jinn November 01, 2023

I thought it sounded fine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.