My husband has mid-life crisis thoughts/moods too. Like above comments have said, as a man he has issues about not being "enough". Inadequacy. Though, he is totally killing it in my eyes and by most people's standards! Still, men have a lot of pressure on them. What's helped us (because if my husband is wanting a break from me and the family i am going to be hurt by that) is for me to be encouraging as possible. Supportive not only verbally but with deeds. Help him carry his burden, and let him know that we're a team and we're in this together. He needs reminders of this. He feels the provider pressure a lot, and i can't help financially but I can help him in other ways. Let him know you see him, and you're there for him. Let him know you are proud of him and you respect him for his efforts. Knowing their wife respects them can do a lot for men's feeling of inadequacy. Figure out what his love language is and try to love him in that way. My husband's is physical touch so when I know he's low, I try to give him more of that. Some guys' would be acts of service- cooking for them, doing helpful tasks for them, being thoughtful about what they need even when theyre not with you. I don't know, just some things I learned from 15 years of marriage and tons of rough patches, especially about this kind of thing with my man!