Work in progress update, with picture. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • Oct. 21, 2023, 3:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s at about six hours now. Tonight I’ll definitely finish the pencil, and then comes the color. I bought some new Prismacolor pencils, but I don’t know if I’ll use them on this.

alt text

An incredibly flattering conversation between my half sister and a friend in California. California friend collects guitars, goes to business events in nice suits, and rents a very nice house in, well, California; and absolutely will not even hint at his work. So I take his perspectives seriously, presuming he’s successful at something particularly respectable.

alt text

I did commissions while we were basically homeless, to be able to buy cat food, and my own lunches. It’s thankless and grinding work, with customers who have no idea how much effort is involved, want things in unreasonable time frames, and ask for multiple iterations that they don’t pay for if they don’t like. Constant criticism even when you’ve got a “good” customer. Never again.

My stuff will sell as “fine art”, at prices that accurately reflect the time and effort involved, or it just won’t sell. Focusing on trying to make things specifically to sell has ground my artwork to all but a halt. No more. I’ll make whatever I feel like, and either the buyers will come, or they won’t.

And to hell with digital art. It just doesn’t feel the same as the real thing. There’s no satisfaction in it. And Deviant Art is overflowing with it. I double dog dare these Apple Procreate wonders to pick up an actual paintbrush and try it without layers and an undo button. I’m making homemade peach pie from scratch, and they’re microwaving some Marie Callender’s. I have no respect for it at all. Mix your paint by hand, and get an actual canvas. /rant

I apologize for all of the comments and replies I owe. I’ve been completely engrossed. I’ll get to them all, I swear.

Thanks to anyone who reads.


Last updated October 21, 2023


pangolin October 21, 2023

amazing 😍😍

Asenath Waite pangolin ⋅ October 22, 2023

You're so kind. Thank you so much. 😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.