And so.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 17, 2023, 3:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Writers Group - October 2023

Fall Colors, Walk, Visit to an apple orchard

My new dog and I took a walk the other day. It was a sunny, pleasant fall day and we had the road to ourselves. We turned left at the driveway and went up the steep little hill in front of our house and then on toward the big hill. There are trees on either side of the road and they are changing color. There is a little creek on one side that is relishing the recent rains. The sky was blue and all was beautiful.

Lib is not the best dog for walking. She is not on a leash of course and she doesn’t stay with me very well. She was way ahead of me when I saw her rollling ecstatically on something on the edge of the road. I assumed it was something dead, and of course it was. An entire leg from hoof to hip of a deer. I assume (again) that it was left from someone’s legally hunted deer.

I told LIb she could bring the deer leg home with her if she wanted. I was reminded not long ago of a photo of my old dog I posted years ago of her proudly returning home with a deer leg in her jaws. But LIb didn’t think that was a good idea. So.... I had to do it for her. I semi-delicately grabbed the deer’s delicate little hoof and pulled it the half mile home.

At first Lib hid the deer leg, buried it I assume, but recently it reappeared in the lawn beside the deck.

Today LIb and I took another short walk. This time we turned right at the driveway. Just by the mailbox, there was a commotion in the deep ditch leading to the neighbor’s bean field, and suddenly in a flurry of wingbeats and bird calls, two pheasants took off. They flew like WWII airplanes, straight and fast and disappeared before I could tell their missions. Lib and I did not have a souvenir to bring home.

Their war plane-like takeoffs, sudden with straight out-stretched wings and fast vectored flights made me grateful that they were only game birds and not war planes. I wonder sometimes how lucky we are to have lived our lives in a land that does not have wars. I can’t believe we are lucky for a reason. I can only believe it’s random fate.

We live in a beautiful place. Perhaps more importantly, we live in a safe place. The trees turn their colors and shed their leaves. The grasses and weeds dry and shed their seeds. The farm crops mature and are harvested. The apple trees share their bounty. The neighbor women made apple pies and I bought one to store in the freeezer for the next time we have a family dinner.

We know when we hear gunshots it’s only the Amish neighbors harvesting a deer or our other neighbor the gun enthusiast testing out his latest black powder rifle. I’m sorry the rest of the world is not as lucky as we are. I’m sorry for the wars and the hunger and illnesses and the poverty. I wish I had answers. I don’t believe there are any answers. I’m sorry for that too.

Reading this a day later, I wonder if I have somehow stumbled into a Second Amendment argument. Some might say my dog and I are safe to walk the gravel road and share the land with nature because of all those guns in private hands. I disagree, but who really knows for sure?

                                                                              ##

Another fifty words - another one hundred fifty - to fill the quota. It’s Monday morning, Jim is doing his taxes. I know I was surprised too. Felt a bit like time travel until he reminded me that he hadn’t filed this spring but had gotten an extension. He feels like he has all in hand. He will file on line. I wonder if I could get him to go to the library with me and print them off. That would add to his life literacy. He brought me down the letter he’d found on his upstairs desk from S when S had quit the Planning and Zoning Committee. It was a lovely letter. It acknowledged Jim’s capability and thanked him. It was beautifully written. They
were special people. Both are dead now. The letter was written in 2002. Jim had been planning and zoning for a long time now.

                                                                            ###

Lawn mowing at Westminster Abbey.


Last updated October 17, 2023


Jinn October 17, 2023

I would not have hauled that deer leg home. Eek ! I hate hunting. I realize it’s a necessary evil ( or so I am told over and over ) but my brain still sees Bambi’s Mother. 😂 And of course how we get our meat for consumption is much worse and I am not doing anything about preventing that either. 😢
I have been watching way too much news coverage about Israel and Gaza since I am stuck in the chair again. I have to limit myself now because it’s so disturbing. We are very fortunate to live where we do. I get disgusted with our government but if you compare the mess that is Israel and Palestine; they actually look good . At least at this moment .
I envy you and everyone who can go “ walking” right now . I want to do that so badly .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ October 17, 2023 (edited October 17, 2023)

Edited

I'm sorry you can't go walking. Being out and about is a good thing. What happened to you is a tragedy too. LIfe is just so full of good and bad things, and they seem to happen so randomly. I hope you feel better.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ October 17, 2023

I can’t wait to get back out and about. This forced immobilization is for the birds :-( I hope I am getting better. I can’t tell yet. :-(

NorthernSeeker October 18, 2023

I love your take on Westminster Abbey...good photo. Your writing is beautiful too and I like the way you bring other issues into the story...like the Second Amendment argument.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 18, 2023

Oh thank you. You make me feel good.
I went to the writing group today and it didn't go well.
It got political in a a bad way. The war. Book censorship in schools. Sex deviation in schools. I said if I hear more I will get up and leave. I heard more and I got up and left. I said I had to leave to pick up my son, but that wasn't true. I just had to leave. They are good people. Half way home I remembered what I used to say when homosexuality was first fashionable. I said I would ask how people would feel if their children or grandchildren were gay (or trans now). How could they know that mine weren't? Or that the person next to them didn't have some? Plus I used to say I would rather have responsible gay kids than irresponsible straight ones. That's what I remembered on my way home. I hope I don't get another of those camera speeding tickets again.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ October 19, 2023

It was brave of you to leave the group and it was the right thing to do. Bravo to you!

Brakeshoe Bob woman in the moon ⋅ October 22, 2023

You expressed your feelings. Odd they way things happen. Some not for the best, but stay true to yourself

Purple Dawn October 20, 2023

Good for you sticking to your guns and leaving.
I hope you didn't get a ticket too ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.