The Boy 'round Here in Current Events

  • Oct. 14, 2023, 9:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spotted an old childhood friend at the gym this morning, Dustin. I wasn’t sure if it was him at first. It’s been a couple of decades. It would have been 30 years ago when I first met him. I wonder if he recognized me. A lot of people don’t right away because I had a little bit of a glow-up. He looked the same but grown-man size. He’s tall and bony. His arms are really long so I think he’s a Gemini. His chin looked a little underdeveloped but that’s because he’s a mouth breather. I’m not surprised that he’s still lanky. I’m usually surprised when I see people in my age group without any fat on them but he was athletic as a kid. Played hockey. Always had abs that I was jealous of.

Dustin was on the treadmill when I got there at 6 A.M. so he must have seen me walk in. It’s hard to tell if a person is coming or going when they are on the treadmill but he was on his way out. I wasn’t exactly sure if it was him until he walked by while I was using the machines. I forgot that he had those light-coloured eyes. He has copper skin that doesn’t go light. Unlike my own, we’re both indigenous. I have a Scorpio moon, fair skin is just an indicator for Scorpio Suns, Moons, and risings. Also, a facial scar. However, I am also biracial. I identify as racial fluid. [Achievement Unlocked: 3 Extra Chromosomes Added]

It didn’t feel appropriate to say hi. I had a lot of childhood memories come back to me after seeing him. Me and the boys, we got into a lot of fights. Lots of drama. I usually got singled out but that is probably because I was the alpha. High school politics split us all up but I think back on them often. Dustin and his younger brother Brendan. Mitchell, who was my bestie. The two Kyles. Then there was Cree, Curt, and Kirk. We were all very active. Played a lot of football. They were all on hockey teams, I played soccer. I also did track. I was the fastest kid in the province at one point. I won every long-distance race by a lot. My nickname was Daddy Long Legs. Nobody calls me daddy anymore :( (lolz). We played a lot of games, got into a lot of trouble, climbed absolutely everything, broke many bones, etc. I liked my childhood with them. There are of course some things we can’t talk about now.

I grew apart from them around when puberty started. I started to realize things about myself and I was no longer comfortable around them. Then I went into a dark dark place where I remained until I was free from high school. Social anxiety took over my life.

There was one friend if I can even call it that, that I remember. It makes me cringe every single time. Brendan, not Dustin’s brother. He was my mother’s best friend and they would always just make us hang out when they did. It was so awful and awkward. I had such a crush on him I didn’t know how to just exist around him. His mother was a model, all of her kids were stunning. We had a lot in common, we should have become besties. Gone to concerts together and just be angsty punks. We would just listen to music together. Whatever. I wonder what he is up to now.

I was trying to imagine what a reunion would look like with the boys. Beer, weed, Monty Python and Weezer. Fishing? Hunting? That’s what the real boys do ya? I don’t know how to mainstream as a hetero man. I guess nobody would want to charge crystals under a full moon with me. That reminds me, there is a solar eclipse today. Its peak is at 1:42 A.M. where I’m at. We will have an overcast as always.

I opted for a nap after my previous entry. I don’t think I actually fell asleep but it did the trick. Bev and I watched Repo the Genetic Opera. We are going to watch our next fall movie next Wednesday, an Interview with a Vampire. Then its sequel Queen of the Damned. Love that soundtrack. Later this evening, I’ll probably go watch Hocus Pocus 2 with my mother. She wants to see it. I didn’t know she loved that movie. I made everybody watch it a lot. It was the first thing I bought which I saved up money for. I had it on VHS. There were always signs that I was “gay.” lol

Anyway, I shall study for a bit and then move on with my day. Try to get into my projects. I felt dirty leaving the gym today because I wasn’t there as long. I didn’t want to overdo it because I’m going back there tomorrow for back day. I finally did chest day. I used the cables for the first time. I’m glad nobody witnessed me trying to figure it all out. I didn’t think my workout was hard enough but I can barely move since I got back. Couldn’t scrub the mess my roommate made off of the counter. After the 4th set, of whatever it is that I am doing, there is no more pain. I just keep going until I physically can’t. ‘Tis why I want a spotter for when I use the bench press. Gotta wait for Bruce to get well. She “has covid.” That doesn’t exist, it’s never been proven to exist. No virus in antiquity. One has never been isolated, end of story. Con-19 possession is just the same thing as every other dis ‘ease. The body is removing waste and repairing damage. She is taking medicine which is going to suppress the process instead of supporting it. It’s really bad this time, she says. Well, no shit. She’s lucky to have the same symptoms. She isn’t healing from the flu she is healing with the flu. [Insert the rest of my anti-germ theory tangent here]


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.