My Kids are ahead of me... in Age 36

  • Oct. 13, 2023, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My oldest is 6 and my second is almost 3 in 6 weeks. I only have the two kids. So where do I start? I guess I am feeling like I can’t keep up. Like I don’t know where I should be at with my 6 year old. He’s my first so I’ve never been through the older years before. I know that he’s a child and such, but the bad habits that I am not instilling are starting to manifest.

He’s talking back, he’s being disrespectful to teachers, he’s trying to make himself be heard. I see that. But how do you curtail these habits when you have already tried the usual methods? This has been ongoing for months. My husband and I have tried to talk to him, I have tried grounding him, black outs…you name it. It works for about a minute, then the next day he’s back to doing the same thing. I have tried explaining respect. I have given him examples. I talked to him about not being a smart mouth.

Over all I think what has so anxious about all this is am I doing things right? I try to step back and look at the overall picture. He’s a bright kid. He’s happy. Sociable. Smart. Is he where he “needs” to be at the age of 6? I think I am worrying about something that I won’t know the answer to until he’s much older. There’s more to this, but I also want to move on.

My daughter is whole other beast.

Have you ever heard people say, “If I would’ve had my second first, I wouldn’t have had a second.”

She’s amazing. So full of energy, which in turn drains me. She’s willful, stubborn, and she doesn’t relent. She’ll fight you until you back down. This is actually a great thing, but only when used correctly.

I’m just feeling really.... Defeated. I have no fuel in the tank to continue. My husband is not the most supportive due to him also feeling this way.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.