Positive on the bar exam (first try); negative on the pregnancy test (second try) in My life

  • Oct. 4, 2023, 6:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Phew as to the first one, I guess.

As to the second, at least the pregnancy test isn’t just offered twice every year, doesn’t cost hours to apply for, $700 to take and $1,000 and 10 weeks of studying to prep for, doesn’t take 12 hours of furious typing, and so many emotional breakdowns.

I wondered what happened between that time when we conceived our miscarried baby and now. How is it that we barely did anything last time and got pregnant on our first try versus now when we were going at it so hard and it didn’t happen? and then I remembered… oh yeah, I turned 30 last June. Who knew the difference between conceiving in your 20s vs. 30s would be so stark?

Anyway, I’m real glad to have that behind me. The bar exam, I mean. My time could be spent on better things than studying for and taking this exam. That’s why it was a good thing to pray for. I attribute my success to the intersession of St. Joseph Cupertino, patron saint of exam takers.

“Pray as if none of your work mattered;
Work as if none of your prayers mattered”

I think it’s amazing they created a test that is actually very passable– over 80% of takers in my state pass– but at the same time so very daunting and stressful. Props to that. I have to begrudgingly admit that it did help with my job to know that much law from studying for this exam. It gives me a starting point at least when I’m trying to research something new. Gratitude. That’s why school and general education are necessary I guess: they don’t teach you everything you need to know in life, but their aim is to give you some starting points so you can handle all kinds of problems in your life.

But now that I’m out of school for the first time in my life, at age 30, I’m fond of telling my husband: education is SO overrated. Adult life is so much better!


A Pedestrian Wandering October 05, 2023

I'm glad you have the bar behind you, such a huge hurdle! I hope you are proud to have done it and can look forward to the rest of your life.

sadandlonelygirl A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ October 05, 2023

Thank you for your kind words, again! I have indeed been looking forward to this point when I can just go on and enjoy the rest of my life. Thank you yet again for going out of your way to encourage me during all my depression in law school. Your words really meant a lot to me back then :')

A Pedestrian Wandering sadandlonelygirl ⋅ October 05, 2023 (edited October 05, 2023)

Edited

You are welcome, people were kind to me when I needed kindness, so I know how it feels.

JustSurviveSomehow October 05, 2023

Congratulations! Stress can contribute too. You weren't trying last time and now you are. Your body can become less fertile if you're stressed, overwhelmed, worried, etc. 30 is so young - I'm sure the age has nothing at all to do with it! Seems like a big difference to us though (I'm 30 too lol)

sadandlonelygirl JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ October 15, 2023

Thank you!!! Yes I guess we (I) should tone down a bit and not stressing out about the timing and et cetera haha! Yeah I hope so. A lot of women may have their first in their 20s (such as yourself I guess) but their second, third etc. in their 30s. Happy belated or early 30 to you! I think 30 is a great age when we're at our peak both physically and in terms of emotional maturity ;).

FrayMyste November 03, 2023

Yay to the bar exam!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.