Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment! in Hello

  • Oct. 2, 2023, 4:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Ramones are stuck in my head.

It’s 4:16 AM and I’ve given up on trying to sleep. I crawled into an Arthur C. Clarke short story collection and came across a compelling tale titled Who’s There? It’s about an engineer who goes outside of a space station to fetch a small disabled satellite when he suddenly hears scratching in his space suit. He calls into command freaking out that the suit is haunted by a guy who had died a year prior. They don’t toss the suits, just repair them and dole out a new serial number. He knocked himself unconscious when he felt something pat him on the back of the neck. He woke up in the infirmary with a nice bruise on his forehead but the doctor’s and nurse’s weren’t paying attention to him. It wasn’t the ghost of the dead man but three kittens the station’s cat gave birth to in secret in a storage pocket on the suit. I laughed.

But…it did get me to thinking. In the future, when a colony is formed on the moon or Mars or whatever, someone dies. Will their ghost haunt that location? I’ve been pondering about the possibilities the rest of the night. A film, book or TV series. Ghost in space. I know it’s been touched upon in the Doom series that there is a gateway to Hell on the moons of Mars. Get a good writer on it and I bet it could become a best seller or a really entertaining flick. Event Horizon kinda covered it but that too was a gateway to Hell opened up through a wormhole. The haunted house in space was done originally as Alien but I want an honest to goodness ghost story.

Just some food for thought.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.