Large pizza with mushrooms and dipping sauce in Diary

  • Aug. 26, 2014, 11:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Howdy! I thought I ought to write here, as I usually do after working on my story. It’s an odd habit, I suppose, but I may as well keep it up. Doing it helps me to be more present on this site, for sure. Because when I don’t write here, I tend to also not read as much as I want to, and I lose touch with people I’d rather not lose touch with. My brain is in blank-mode again, probably from working on my story, so I apologize if this entry is unintelligible in any way.

My teeth are basically a big mess. I haven’t been to the dentist in so long I can’t even remember what year it was when I last went. You couldn’t tell anything was wrong if I smiled, but when I look in there I can see I have a bunch of cavities. One of my teeth is literally falling apart. I’ve lost two small pieces of the back half of it, probably where a cavity is happening. I bought some of that over the counter tooth filling paste at one of the local drugstores so I can eat without getting food stuck there, but I don’t think it’s a good idea to leave the tooth like it is for too long. I need to go to the dentist sooner rather than later. But I have no dental insurance until roughly 37 days from today. I’m not sure what to do about this. Should I wait until the tooth starts hurting worse than it does now, or should I dip into my savings and bite the bullet, schedule an appointment right away? Any opinions would be appreciated.

While working on my novel, earlier, I realized that I absolutely must write the story of the Pin Man in order to properly finish the story. The subject is coming up a lot in the text, and it’s gotten to the point where characters are coming into conflict over the Pin Man, and yet that part of the story isn’t written yet. So I guess I’ll have to focus on that when I write, next. At the same time, I don’t want to ignore the main narrative. Maybe I’ll try writing for an hour on the Pin Man and an hour on the main narrative. Something like that. Really, I ought to be writing for a longer period of time. But I don’t know. I tend to get burned out once I’ve written between an hour and a half and two hours.

The Pin Man story, when referred to, comes from Carmen’s journal. But I don’t want to have too much, if any of the story, told from a first-person perspective, since everything so far has been in third-person. I’m guessing what I’ll do is go ahead and write it in third person and then figure out some way to include it with the rest of the story. Maybe I’ll jump back and forth between the main narrative and the Pin Man story. I don’t know. We’ll see.

So that is what’s happening in my mind as far as the story is concerned. Otherwise, I’m hungry and am in need of a diversion. A mushroom pizza is sounding better and better to me. And I need to run an errand, anyway. I think I’ll go pick one up on my way back. Maybe I’ll even splurge and get a big soda, too. After I eat, I might look into the possibility of seeing a dentist. If I can find one who will let me get on a payment plan of some sort, that might work.

I’m really looking forward to working next Monday. I wish it were today. I’m so bored. Take care, everyone.


ElvenAssassin August 27, 2014

Ah, you make me think of my wisdom tooth where a corner of it crumbled right out of my mouth. The dentist very politely did not laugh when I thought it could be saved and he said "Yeah, that puppy has to come out." I'm worried about what will happen if you wait. ::hugs::

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ August 29, 2014

:) I appreciate that. I think the tooth isn't as bad as I thought, but we'll see. It isn't hurting anymore, and I haven't experienced any other crumbling, or anything. Maybe I'm being overly optimistic. I don't know. Either way, I'll go to the dentist sometime relatively soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.