Pattern Recognition in Current Events

  • Sept. 21, 2023, 10:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I see a pattern here. My metacognition is strong, thank god. My depression hit me again today. It hit on Monday and then again on Tuesday. Yesterday I was fine but it crept up on me again today. I was at work when it happened. I knew it was because I was dreading class tonight. But why? This is how it was when I was in school the first time around. 84 years ago when I was a teenager. Nobody talked about social anxiety or depression back then. I was at my darkest at that time. This must be some old programming that surfaced.

I did attend class today. It went relatively well. My math wasn’t mathing but that’s on me. I wrote down what I needed to work on during the weekend. My problem with math is that I only see the numbers and the formulas and that messes me up. I think in pictures and I need to see what is happening in my head and then just communicate that with said numbers. I need to understand the context, the context is god. Of course, I also need to understand the math itself. I’m just not math intuitive, yet. I had all this time. Again, that is on me.

I’m depressed that I’m depressed. I don’t want to be bummed out, especially at work. It was really hard to save face. My supervisor’s boss was in today. I walked in on them talking about me. All good things. I’m blowing everybody away. I couldn’t even enjoy that. I don’t want to burden anyone or make it anyone else’s problem. I just want to be my annoyingly peppy self.

I have to figure this out. I talk pretty big about sucking it up and here I am being humbled. It’s hard to function when you feel like your dog just died. I remembered how I love myself and that I have to parent myself, that inner child, and force him to go to class. I dragged his sorry ass to school today. I can’t let him suffer so I will find a way to help him heal. There is no threat. I have to tell him. We can let go of this attachment. Let go of this unrealized neurological compound that is no longer serving us.

I really do need that me-day. Just me in my bed with my thoughts and dreams and music. Just take a break from that surface pressure.

This depression makes me so short-sighted which is super frustrating. I can’t see past the pain. To when things will be better. I can’t see the solutions or the opportunities. It creates so many blind spots. I know better though. This too shall pass. I’ve been rumbling with this my whole life. It had stopped for almost two months. It’s back with a vengeance, it would seem. I don’t want to use drugs or become dependent on alcohol, that’s no shocker. I was thinking of getting some ashwagandha root powder again. The problem was that it made me dead on the inside. I wouldn’t even get out of bed. There was nothing inside to ignite. I’ll only add it to my smoothie twice a week. It’s just an adaptogen but it has a side effect that I didn’t know about.

I suppose what I should do is look at that two-month window where I was free from my anxiety and depression altogether. My circumstances were far more dire than they are right now but I was happier. I had my hot girl summer. I spent a lot of time in the sun. I think that is what it was.

Anyway, tomorrow is TGIF. It’s me and my projects this weekend. Also studying, of course.


Zampano September 23, 2023

I feel that. I always thought I was no good at math either until I started building things. Like you said, you need something concrete behind the abstract numbers. Algebra problems that are just theory.

What I've found is that for the "math nerds", the problems are like puzzles for them, where I'm good at Geometry, Trig, and I had a class on The Nature of Mathematics where it was almost more philosophical and Quantum. That interests me.

At a certain point I was building a log cabin in Ohio and the guys I was working for lost the blueprints about halfway up the logs. That was fun. That was satisfying. Things fitting in place. Even now, when I do math for people, they think I'm really good, but the truth is I was never that great at it!

TL Zampano ⋅ September 24, 2023

I like hearing about math from a philosophical POV. It’s always been my kryptonite

Zampano TL ⋅ September 24, 2023

This is a video the Professor played in The Nature of Mathematics class. (Flatland is really good too.)

https://youtu.be/NvzSLByrw4Q?si=Jujusj_kfFIZ5GZK

TL Zampano ⋅ September 24, 2023

Oh yes, that experiment. It adds up for me as I’m subscribed to Taurus fields. Matter is light slowed down. It’s an electromagnetic field. Force and motion in an exact state of equilibrium. It comes with the fifth element, the aether. Energy at rest is god. Everything audible, visible and tangible is simply the release of zero-point energy. Blah blah lol

Zampano TL ⋅ September 24, 2023

Right. A bit dated. But, it just helps me to realize a lot of the math other folks seem good at...it's like a good place to put nervous energy for some types.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.