I Deserve It in The Song Remembers When

  • Sept. 21, 2023, 5:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When Music first came out, I remember my blood going cold when I first heard this song. In the context of the album, it comes after three absolutely brain-melting electronica songs, over-produced to perfection, full of blips and bass and voice-effects galore. But I Deserve It has almost none of that. Famously, Madonna even has no effects on her voice whatsoever, not even reverb.

Not long after, I learned to play guitar just to learn this song. I practiced for months, and then on our 2 year anniversary, I took Joe out to our little creek and I played it for him. I will never forget the look on his face when I sang to a song I played all by myself.

Within six months, he was dead.


Sleepy-Eyed John September 21, 2023

Never heard it before. it's nice. I only really know Madonna's hits.

KissOfLife! September 24, 2023

That's a nice song. I always thought 'Music' was a strange lead-single.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.