Updates from a Brewery in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 20, 2023, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Interesting Work Spaces: I’m typing this out at a brewery. That’s right - I’m sitting here drinking a beer and writing this entry while others around me work on their laptops as well. I think if I were to get a remote job or even a hybrid job here that allows a couple of days WFH per week, I’d likely end up at this brewery or one like it just to be around people. You know, I’ve discovered that I have to be around people lately, right? Like, I’m not even interacting with these folks, I just need to know that there are other humans around. Maybe I should move to NYC or something? Nah, maybe not. I do like my personal space - I just like to know that there are other living, breathing humans around me. I think this might be Covid/Cancer PTSD. I don’t want to be alone anymore!

Networking Event: The reason I’m even here at this brewery tapping this out is that I have a networking event to atrend in a couple of hours and so I wanted to be closer to it when it starts. It starts at 5:30 and is in an area of town that would kind of suck to try to navigate to during rush hour, so… here I sit at this brewery. The networking event is one that is sponsored by the guy who introduced me to the company I did my consulting project for, so I’m thinking that this could potentially be another fruitful event for me. Fingers crossed. Please keep sending the good juju!! Thank you!

Anxiously Awaiting: I didn’t tell you about this because I didn’t want to jinx it. Ugh. And I still don’t want to jinx it, so I won’t go into detail. I’m asking for major good vibes out there from anyone who will send them along. I know it’s a little woo-woo, but I believe in the power of good vibes (and yes, I strongly believe in prayers, however you may do that). I know that they were sent through PB when I was going through my colon cancer treatment. I KNOW it. So I’m asking again. You might not believe it, but being unemployed, for me, is just as bad as a cancer treatment. I know I can handle it, but I need help from my support system. Thank you. I PROMISE I’ll fill you in when it happens. It WILL happen. But I need your help.

The Skin Thing: And the same goes for my skin issues. My lump/bump was sliced off with a razor yesterday, and today I was allowed to remove the bandage. It bled all night and got blood all over my pillow. And after I removed the bandage and the bleeding slowed down, I could still see a deep, seeping core that looks like it needs to be excavated. .I’m hoping beyond hope that it’s not an aggressive situation. Can you send the good vibes for that too? Thank you for that as well. You’re the best. Let’s just get all of the pesky shit out of the way so I can move on with life, okay?

Boys: Yes. I’m 55 years old and I’m still calling them boys. I wonder if I should do a RAD on this one. But I don’t even know if it’s a dating situation? So get this: a couple of weeks ago, a friend of mine from [my old city] was in town as she is a news producer for NBC. She was covering an issue that was getting national news and we ended up being able to get coffee. After our coffee, she asked me if I wanted to meet her crew and I said SURE! I mean, what else am I gonna do, right? So we went over and I talked to the camera guy and another guy and as it turns out, the camera guy and I had some things in common. That led to texts and even a video conference that may or may not lead to anything AND he just happened to be back in town (he lives a few hours away) for another news event over the weekend. We ended up not only meeting for a quick coffee on Sunday morning, but we also had dinner together on Sunday night. It was fun and all, but I have ZERO idea if he’s into me for dating or just a fun friendship. Either way, I like the dude, but not into a long distance thing, Still would be nice to see someone from time to time.

I think that’s all for today. I need to get a few more emails out and maybe one more beer before I head to the networking event.

Beer? Who even am I? I don’t really like beer, but I’m still at a brewery, so…

GS


bobbi01 September 20, 2023

Sending you all the good vibes. You've got this.

sparklespeterson September 20, 2023

Good vibes coming your way!

Firebabe September 20, 2023

All the good vibes heading your way. It's been a rough stretch, hasn't it?

Florentine September 20, 2023

Will send all my extra good vibes your way. I hope the networking event goes super well tonight for you and it leads to connecting with the right people at the right time with the right kind of job offer(s)!

WhatDreamsMayCome September 20, 2023

Many good vibes your way.

ninakir88 September 20, 2023

sending good vibes your way!

Nash September 20, 2023

The best vibes I have. You are richly deserving of a good job and a happy healthy life.

Complicated Disaster September 21, 2023

You ALWAYS have my best vibes!! <3 xx

Satine September 21, 2023

all very best vibes and wishes to you. today and always!

kansasgirl September 21, 2023

Sending ALL the good vibes!

Serin December 31, 2023

The good wishes have been ongoing, but I'm happy to crinkle my brain and send extra.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.