A slightly odd-feeling, but decent day in Diary

  • Aug. 23, 2014, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday my dad came over, and he and my mom and I had a really nice dinner together. My dad talked about some of the experiences he had while hiking 200 miles on the John Muir trail. Hearing his stories almost made me want to give it a shot. Maybe someday I will. It sure sounds beautiful with all the stars and the big trees with red bark contrasted with the lush green underbrush. The marmots sounded cute, and fun to see. Apparently they eat a lot grass, and also enjoy dipping into your food supplies if you don't tie up your pack. My mom told stories about her trip to new york, including the electrical fire on her floor in a hotel she stayed at. I mostly just sat and listened. But it was still an enjoyable get together.

I left twice in search of a cot to sleep on, as I didn't want to ruin any of the couches by sleeping on them too much. The first store was a bust, but the second time I went out I was in luck. I slept on the cot for the first time last night. When I was a kid, I used to often sleep on cots whenever I stayed at either my grandparent's house or my at my aunt's apartment. It reminded me of the old days when I laid on it. Since I'm not used to cots, though, I didn't get the best sleep in the world, although I eventually eased into it and made it comfortable. I have a yoga mat as the bottom layer, and then all the usual bedding on top of that, tucked under the mat. I also put a second pillow in my pillowcase.

Last night I stayed up really late, and so consequently I slept in late as well. I haven't gotten much done today because of the late start. Some, though. No writing was done yesterday because I was running around all day, doing shopping and driving here and there. Today has been a little better in that regard. I wrote quite a bit, for me. It was about a page, I guess. Anyway, progress was made.

It's scary not knowing how to do what I'm doing, how to write a certain scene or resolve certain loose ends or apparent contradictions. But taking it all in bite-sized chunks is helping. Most of the problems seem to solve themselves as I go along, thankfully.

My brain feels fried, right now. I don't know why. Maybe I've been staring at the computer screen for too long. Eight more days until I start training at the new job. As nice as it is to do whatever I want whenever I want, I'm eager to start working.

This entry is rather pointless, but I'm too blanked out to write any more. Take care.


ElvenAssassin August 23, 2014

I'm... excited. I have art to do and writing when Gabrielle and Ophira go to school.

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ August 25, 2014

Thanks. :D

Working on artwork sounds great. I imagine the act of doing it is a sort of meditative exercise. Like writing, but...better?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.